Current Affairs PDF

Marieke Lucas Rijneveld becomes Youngest Author to Win 2020 International Booker Prize for the Book ‘The Discomfort of Evening’

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

International Booker Prize 2020On 26th August, 2020 Dutch Author Marieke Lucas Rijneveld won the 2020 International Booker Prize for the Literary fiction book ‘The Discomfort of Evening’. Rijneveld became the youngest author to win the prize at the age of 29.

The Booker Prize Foundation is a registered charity, it is responsible for the award of The Booker Prize for Fiction and for The International Booker Prize.

The Book was first published in Dutch in 2018 and eventually translated into English by Michele Hutchison. 

Under the rules of the prize, the award of 50,000-pound will be split equally between the author and translator Michele Hutchison, giving equal recognition to both.

Key Points:

i.The author Marieke Lucas Rijneveld was born in April, 1991 at Nieuwendijk, Netherlands.

ii.The book tells the fictional story of Jas, a girl in a devout Christian farming family, whose brother dies in an accident after she wishes he would die instead of her rabbit.

iii.The Dutch edition of the book was a best-seller and grabbed the prestigious ANV Debut Prize.

iv.This year the panel of judges considered 124 books, translated from 30 languages.

International Booker Prize:

i.The International Booker Prize is awarded annually for a single book that is translated into English and published in the UK or Ireland.  

ii.The Prize aims to encourage publishing and reading of quality fiction from all over the world and also to promote the work of translators. Both novels and short-story collections are eligible for the prize.

iii.The Booker prizes are sponsored by Crankstart, a charitable foundation. The International Booker prize is separate from the main Booker Prize