Current Affairs PDF

Kallis, Sthalekar and Zaheer Abbas inducted into ICC Cricket Hall of Fame of the Class of 2020

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

Jacques-Kallis,-Zaheer-Abbas,-Lisa-Sthalekar-inducted-into-ICC-Hall-of-Fame-2020On 23rd August, 2020 Former players Jacques Kallis (South Africa), Lisa Caprini Sthalekar(Australia) and Syed Zaheer Abbas Kirmani(Pakistan) were inducted into the International Cricket Council’s (ICC) Hall of Fame of the class of 2020 in a virtual ceremony. 

ICC Cricket Hall of Fame recognizes the achievements of the legends of the game from cricket’s long and illustrious history.

Key Highlights:

i.Kallis (1995-2014) is the Fourth South African player to be inducted into the Hall of Fame. The All-rounder is the only player to have scored 10,000 runs and taken 250 wickets in both Tests and One Day Internationals(ODIs). He is South Africa’s highest run-getter in Tests and ODIs.

ii.Lisa Sthalekar (2001-2013) is the 27th Player from Australia and ninth woman player in the Hall of Fame. The All-rounder was part of the Australian women’s team which won the Women’s ODI World Cup in 2005 & 2013 and Twenty20 International (T20I) World cup in 2010 & 2012.  She is the First Woman cricketer to achieve ODI double of 1000 runs & 100 wickets. 

iii.Zaheer Abbas (1969-1985) is the sixth player from Pakistan to be inducted into the Hall of Fame. The Former Batsman & Captain played was the first player to score 3 successive hundred in ODIs, and earned the moniker ‘Asian Bradman’ for his run scoring abilities.

A total of 93 players have been inducted into the Hall of Fame, starting from 2009.

Eligibility & Selection:

i.Any Retired Player, who last played an international match before 5 years is eligible for the Hall of Fame.

ii.The Hall of Famers are decided on the decision of Former ICC Cricket Hall of Famers, who form the majority in the decision making panel along with representation from media, ICC and Federation of International Cricketers’ Association(FICA).

Recent Related News:

i.Shashank Manohar stepped down as Chairman of ICC after his two 2-year tenure (4 years). Deputy Chairman Imran Khwaja takes charge as interim chairman.

ii.On May 18, 2020, ICC Cricket Committee, chaired by former Indian cricketer & commentator, Anil Kumble recommended a ban on the use of saliva to make the ball shine due to the Covid-19 (Coronavirus) pandemic. However, the committee considered ball-shining as safe from the use of sweat.

About ICC:
Chief Executive Officer – Manu Sawhney
Interim Chairman – Imran Khwaja
Headquarters – Dubai, United Arab Emirates (UAE)