Current Affairs PDF

ITF announced winners of 2015 World Champions

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

International Tennis Federation (ITF) announced the winners of 2015 World Champions. The awards were conferred on the basis of players’ performance in the 2015 season.

  • The ITF also announced American Serena Williams and Serbian Novak Djokovic as the 2015 ITF World champions.
  • Serena is named women’s World champion for the 6th time, while this is the 5th occasion that Djokovic has received the honour.

International Tennis Federation announced winners of 2015 World ChampionsHere is the list of winners

Award CategoryWinner
Men’s World ChampionNovak Djokovic (Serbia)
Women’s World ChampionSerena Williams (USA)
Men’s Doubles World ChampionsJean-Julien Rojer (Netherlands) & Horia Tecau (Romania)
Women’s Doubles World ChampionsMartina Hingis (Switzerland) & Sania Mirza (India)
ITF Junior World Champions (Male)Taylor Fritz (the USA)
ITF Junior World Champions (Female)Dalma Galfi (Hungary)
ITF Wheelchair World Champions (Male)Shingo Kunieda (Japan)
ITF Wheelchair World Champions (Female)Jiske Griffioen (Netherlands)

Sania and Hingis joined forces in March this year but proved a force to be reckoned with in 2015, winning two Grand Slam titles at Wimbledon and the US Open, and seven other tournaments.

  • They won their last 22 matches from the start of the US Open through wins in Asia at Guangzhou, Wuhan, Beijing and the WTA Finals, ending the year with a 55-7 record.