Current Affairs PDF

India selected as Chair of Ad Hoc Committee of Kimberley Certification Scheme

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

India has been selected as Chair for the Ad Hoc Committee on Review & Reforms (AHCRR) to reform the Kimberley Process Certification Scheme (KPCS).India’s selection was announced at Kimberley process (KP) Plenary Session held in Brisbane, Australia from 9th – 14th December, 2017.

  • From the Indian side, a delegation led by Joint Secretary, Department of Commerce, comprising Government officials and representatives of Gem & Jewellery Export Promotion Council (GJEPC) attended this session.
  • In the last KP plenary session held in Dubai in November, 2016, India was appointed as the Kimberly Process (KP) Vice Chair for 2018 & Chair for 2019.
  • European Union (EU) will be the KP Chair for 2018.

Overview of Ad Hoc Committee of Kimberley Certification Scheme:

As stated above, India has been selected as the Chair of this Adhoc Committee. Besides, Angola will be the Vice Chair of this Committee.
Kimberley Certification Scheme

  • Both India and Angola will work with other members of the Committee on several reform issues related to changes in core document, Kimberley Process’s permanent secretariat office, expansion of scope of the KP and multi donor fund issues.
  • Other members of this Adhoc Committee includes past chairing countries, representatives of Civil Society, World Diamond Council (WDC) and Diamond Development Initiative (DDI).

About Kimberley Process:

Kimberley Process Certification Scheme (KPCS) is a mechanism for stopping the trade in conflict diamonds.

  • Rough diamonds acquired and traded by rebel movements to finance armed conflicts for overthrowing legitimate governments are referred to as “Conflict Diamonds”.
  • KPCS came to into effect from January 1, 2003.
  • It is a joint Government, International Diamond Industry and Civil Society initiative.
  • India is one of the founding members of KPCS.
  • Currently, KPCS has 54 members representing 81 countries including the European Union (EU) with 28 members.