Current Affairs PDF

India Initiates 3rd phase of Indian Beamline Project in Japan

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

3rd phase of Indian Beamline project for Materials Research in Japan initiatedOn March 23, 2021 the 3rd phase of the Indian beamline project was initiated in Japan with special focus on research based on Industrial Applications. In this phase Indian researchers will be trained with Advanced X-ray techniques used in Material research. It is set up under India-Japan Scientific and Technological Cooperation.

  • MoU signed – 3rd phase was initiate at the backdrop of a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) being signed between Indian Ambassador to Japan, Mr. Sanjay Kumar Verma & Director of Japanese Institute of Material Structure Science, Dr. Kosugi Nobuhiro.
  • Objective – This Phase will increase the number of young researchers from India to be trained in advanced X-ray techniques of material research. At present, only 50 % of Indian researchers who apply receive beamtime.

About Indian Beamline:

i.Indian Beamline is a multipurpose beamline that facilitates in various categories of experiments based on X-ray sources.

ii.It is located at the Photon Factory of High Energy Accelerator Research Organization (KEK), Tsukuba, Japan.

iii.Indian Beamline was constructed & maintained by Saha Institute of Nuclear Physics (SINP), Kolkata and Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research (JNCASR), Bangalore.

iv.The project is supported by India’s Department of Science & Technology under its Nano Mission, initiated in July 2007.

v.It was constructed in Japanese synchrotron light source Photon Factory (PF) of High Energy Accelerator Research Organization (KEK), with support from Nano Mission, Department of Science and Technology (DST).

Phase-I (2009-2015)

An X-ray beamline (BL18B) was constructed by SINP in Japan.

It is capable of performing advanced research in Nano materials.

It was used by 45 Indian Institutes.

Phase-II (2016-2021)

Various operational modes were included to the beamline, under joint cooperation between JNCASR and SINP.

Recent Related News:

On January 15, 2021, India & Japan signed an MoU to boost cooperation in the field of Information & Communication Technology (ICT) which includes 5G technologies, Smart Cities, Telecom Security among others.

About Department of Science & Technology (DST):

DST is a department under the Ministry of Science & Technology.
Union Minister – Harsh Vardhan (Constituency – Chandni Chowk, Delhi)
Secretary – Ashutosh Sharma
Established – 1971
Headquarters – New Delhi

About Japan: 

Emperor of Japan – Naruhito
Prime Minister – Yoshihide Suga
Capital – Tokyo
Currency – Yen