Current Affairs PDF

Hillel Furstenberg & Gregory Margulis : Abel Prize Laureates 2020

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

On 18, 2020 The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters named Israeli-American Hillel Furstenberg from Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Israel and Russian-American Gregory Margulis from Yale University, USA as winners of the Abel Prize 2020. They share the prize & the amount of Norwegian Krone (NOK) 7.5 Million (USD 8.3400).Abel Prize 2020Key Points:

i.They are awarded for their “pioneering use of methods from probability & dynamics in group theory, number theory and combinatorics”.

ii.They used probability methods & random walks techniques to solve deep problems in diverse areas of mathematics.

iii.Hillel Furstenberg hails from Berlin. He is the winner of the Israel Prize for exact sciences and the Wolf Prize in mathematics

iv.Gregory Margulis hails from Moscow,in 1978 he won the Fields Medal at 32 years old but did not receive the medal in Helsinki due to the refusal of Soviet authorities & is the winner of the Lobachevsky Prize and the Wolf Prize in Mathematics.

Gist about Abel Prize:

On the occasion of the 200th anniversary of Niels Henrik Abel’s (Norway mathematician who made pioneering contributions in a variety of fields) birth, the Abel Prize was established by the Norwegian government in 2002. The Prize recognises extraordinary contributions to the field of mathematics & is funded by the Norwegian Government.

Based on the recommendations of the Abel Committee, which consists of five internationally recognized mathematicians, the Abel Laureates is chosen.

About Norway:
– Oslo
Prime Minister (PM)– Erna Solberg
Currency– Norwegian Krone (NOK)