Current Affairs PDF

Highlights of India Vs Newzealand T20I series 2020

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

The Indian men’s cricket team Played  5 T20I (Twenty Twenty Internationals) series against New Zealand as part of the India Tour of New Zealand 2020 from January 24- February 02, 2020. The matches were held in Auckland, Hamilton, Wellington, Mount Maunganui and  Christchurch cities of New Zealand. The Indian men’s cricket won the match against New Zealand for a 5-0 win. The highlights of the match are as follows:India Vs Newzealand T20I series 2020India became 1st team to win a 5 match T20I series for 5-0:

It was the first time in the history of cricket that a team has won a five-match T20I series by a margin of 5-0. Apart from India being the 1st team to win 5 match series, it was also the first time India won a T20I series in New Zealand after it failed twice previously.

India beat NZ via Super Over in 3rd & 4th T20I: 

The Indian cricket won their maiden T20 series win against New Zealand in the 3rd T20I with a super over. The 4th T20I match also had a super over.

For the 1st time ever 5 batsmen scored fifties in a T20I:

New Zealand’s Colin Munro(59 runs), Kane Stuart Williamson(51) and Luteru Ross Poutoa Lote Taylor (54), and India’s Kannur Lokesh Rahul(56 runs) & Shreyas Santosh Iyer(58 runs) scored 50+ runs in the 1st T20I match. This was the first time ever 5 batsmen have scored half centuries in one T20I match.

Ross Taylor becomes 1st NZ men’s cricketer to play 100 T20I games:

Ross Taylor became the 1st New Zealand male cricketer to play 100 T20I matches. He achieved this feat during the final T20I match.

  • Ross also became the 3rd most capped player in International cricket while Pakistan’s Shoaib Malik and India’s Rohit Sharma are currently the only two players ahead of Ross where they featured in 113 matches and 108 matches respectively.
  • Most capped women’s player: The most capped women player in the T20I is Australia’s Ellyse Perry. She surpassed New Zealand’s Suzie Bates to achieve this feat. Bates is also the most capped Kiwi cricketer across men and women.

Rohit Sharma became 8th Indian to score 14,000 international runs:

Indian opening batsman Rohit Sharma became the 8th Indian batsman to complete 14,000 runs in international cricket. He achieved this feat during the final T20I match at New Zealand.

  • Indian cricketers crossing 14,000runs: Other Indian cricketers who have crossed 14,000 international runs include  Sachin Tendulkar(34,357), Rahul Dravid(24,208 runs), Virat Kohli (21,777), Sourav Ganguly (18,575), Mahendra Singh Dhoni(17,266) Virender Sehwag  (17,253) and Mohammad Azharuddin(15,593).

KL Rahul attains career-best second position in ICC T20I batsmen rankings:

India’s KL Rahul was placed at the 2nd position which is his career best in the recently released T20I rankings. The list was topped by Pakistan’s Mohammad Babar Azam. Australia’s Aaron James Finch was ranked at the 3rd position.


Rank Name Country
2KL RahulIndia.
1Babar AzamPakistan.
3Aaron FinchAustralia.


India fined by ICC for slow over-rate in final T20I:

The International Cricket Council(ICC) has fined the Indian Cricket team 20% of the match fee as India maintained a slow over run rate during the 5th and final T20I match.

About Match Venues:
Eden Park- Auckland, NZ.
Seddon Park- Hamilton, NZ.
Sky Stadium- Wellington, NZ.
Bay Oval- Mount Maunganui, NZ.