Current Affairs PDF

Govt appointed 3 new persons as members of FTII society

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

The government has nominated film and TV actor Satish Shah, film critic Bhawana Somaaya and TV producer Bijendra Pal Singh of “CID” fame to the FTII society as members of Film and Television Institute of India Society.
(Information and Broadcasting (I&B) Minister – Arun Jaitley)

  • The troika will succeed Santosh Sivan, Jahnu Barua and Pallavi Joshi who resigned in consensus with striking FTII students in July 2015.
  • The I&B ministry had reconstituted the FTII society in June 2015 and actor Gajendra Chauhan was nominated as its President and Chairman but students went on a 139-strike opposing the appointment of TV actor Gajendra Chauhan as chairperson.

Govt appointed 3 new persons as members of FTII societyCategories allotted
B P Singh has been nominated in the category of “alumni of FTII”.
Satish Shah and Bhawana Somaaya have been nominated in the category of “Eminent Persons”.

About Satish Shah
Mr. Shah is a popular actor with several films and TV soaps to his credit. He has done famous roles in classic Jaane Bhi Do Yaaron and has several popular films like Umrao Jaan, Fanaa, and Om Shanti Om etc. He has completed over 200 feature film.

About Bhawana Somaaya
Somaaya is a well-known film critic with books, radio and TV shows in her bag. She started her career as a film reporter in 1978 and has written 12 books including biographies of stars like Amitabh Bachchan, Hema Malini and Lata Mangeshkar.

About BP Singh
TV producer B P Singh is director-producer of the longest running serial CID. He owns Fireworks Productions.

About Film and Television Institute of India
FTII is an autonomous institute under the Ministry of Information and Broadcasting of the Government of India and aided by the Central Government of India. It is a member of the International Liaison Centre of Schools of Cinema and Television (CILECT), an organisation of the world’s leading schools of film and television.

  • Establishment – 1960
  • Location – Pune