Current Affairs PDF

GK Questions: Indian Polity – Set 31

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

Hello Aspirants.

Welcome to Online General Knowledge section in Affairs cloud, which is important for SSC, UPSC and other competitive exams. We have created Some questions related to Indian GK(Indian Polity) !!!

Click Here To Attend Indian Polity Quiz

  1. The Government of India Act 1935 was passed by which parliament ?
    1.French Parliament
    2.India Parliament
    3.British Parliament
    4.All of these
    5.None of these
    Answer – 3.British Parliament
    Explanation :
    The Government of India Act 1935 was originally passed by British Parliament in August 1935 and was the longest British Act of Parliament ever enacted by that time. The Government of Burma Act 1935 was also included in it.

  2. The council of states is the ________________ of the Indian Parliament
    1.Lower House
    2.Lok Sabha
    3.Rajya Sabha
    4.Panchayat Raj
    5.None of these
    Answer – 3.Rajya Sabha
    Explanation :
    The Rajya Sabha or Council of States is the upper house of the Parliament of India. Membership of Rajya Sabha is limited by the Constitution to a maximum of 250 members, and current laws have provision for 245 members.

  3. The Panchayat raj system is not followed by which country ?
    5.None of these
    Answer – 5.None of these
    Explanation :
    The Panchayat raj is a South Asian political system found mainly in India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Trinidad and Tobago, and Nepal. It is the oldest system of local government in the Indian subcontinent, and historical mentions date to the c. 250 AD period

  4. The Money bill is related with which article of the Indian constitution ?
    1.Article 110
    2.Artcile 100
    3.Article 111
    4.Article 101
    5.None of these
    Answer – 1.Article 110
    Explanation :
    The bill has provisions related to article 110 (1)(a) {imposition, abolition, remission, alteration or regulation of any tax} and is certified as a money bill. It has its endorsement by speaker as money bill and Rajya Sabha has no power to change its fat

  5. Which category of finance bill is considered same as Money Bill ?
    1.Financial bill of category-I
    2.Financial bill of category-II
    3.Financial bill of category-III
    4.Financial bill of category-Iv
    5.All of these
    Answer – 1.Financial bill of category-I
    Explanation :
    A financial bill of category-I is considered same as Money Bill and introduced in the Lok Sabha on the recommendation of the President.  However once it has been passed by the Lok Sabha, it is like an ordinary Bill and there is no restriction on the powers of the Rajya Sabha on such Bills.

  6. What is ‘Prorogation’ ?
    1.Termination of a lifetime
    2.Termination of a session
    3.Termination of the parliament
    4.Termination of a sitting
    5.None of these
    Answer – 2.Termination of a session
    Explanation :
    Prorogation means the termination of a session of the House by an order made by the President under article 85(2)(a) of the Constitution.

  7. The time between the Prorogation and reassembly is called
    4.Sine Die
    5.None of these
    Answer – 1.Recess.
    Explanation :
    The period between the prorogation of a House and its reassembly in a new session is called ‘recess’.

  8. Deletion of words, phrases or expressions from the proceedings or records of  Rajya Sabha is known as ____________
    5.None of these
    Answer – 1.Expunction
    Explanation :
    Expunction”-Deletion of words, phrases or expressions from the proceedings or records of  Rajya Sabha by an order of the Chairman as being defamatory or indecent or unparliamentary or undignified.

  9.  Which of the following term is not related with Rajya Sabha ?
    4.All of these
    5.None of these
    Answer – 2.Dissolution
    Explanation :
    Adjournment, Prorogation and Dissolution are applicable to Lok Sabha. The term Dissolution is not applicable to Rajya Sabha because that is a permanent house.

  10.  Adjournment means ___________________
    1.Terminates the sitting of the House
    2.Terminates the session of the House
    3.Changes the session of the House
    4.Changes the sitting of the House
    5.None of these
    Answer – 1.Terminates the sitting of the House 
    Explanation :
    Adjournment sine die means terminating a sitting of Parliament for an indefinite period. In other words, when the House is adjourned without naming a day for reassembly, it is called adjournment sine die. The power of adjournment sine die lies with the presiding officer of the House.