Current Affairs PDF

GK Questions: Honours & Awards – Set 3

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

Hello Aspirants. Welcome to Online General Knowledge section in Affairs cloud, which is important for all the competitive exams. We have created Some questions related to Basic GK(Honours & Awards) !!!

  1. G.D. Birla Award for ………………………is an award instituted in 1991 by theK. K. Birla Foundation
    1.Scientific Research
    5.None of these
    Answer – 1.Scientific Research 
    Explanation :
    G.D. Birla Award for Scientific Research is an award instituted in 1991 by the K. K. Birla Foundation in honour of the Indian philanthropist Ghanshyam Das Birla. The award is given to an outstanding scientific research, mostly during the past 5 years, undertaken by an Indian scientist, who is below the age of 50, living and working in India.

  2. ………………………………. is given in the field of films
    1.The Ekalavya Award
    2.The Arjuna Award
    3.The Cannes Award
    4.The Grammy Award
    5.None of these
    Answer – 3.The Cannes Award
    Explanation :
    The Cannes Festival named until 2002 as the International Film Festival (Festival international du film) and known in English as the Cannes Film Festival, is an annual film festival held in Cannes, France, which previews new films of all genres, including documentaries, from around the world. Founded in 1946

  3. Which samman is awarded for Satire and essay ?
    1.The Sharad Joshi Samman
    2.The Vyas Samman
    3.The Iqbal Samman
    4.The Tansen Samman
    5.None of these
    Answer – 1.The Sharad Joshi Samman
    Explanation :
    The Sharad Joshi Samman is awarded for Satire and essay

  4. The Joliot-Curie Medal is given for …………………………
    3.Social Service
    4.Public Service
    5.None of these
    Answer – 2.Peace
    Explanation :
    Medal of Peace, renamed in 1959 the Joliot-Curie Medal of Peace in honour of Frédéric Joliot-Curie, who led the WPC till his death in 1958. This medal has been awarded in silver, but the highest WPC honour is the gold medal.

  5. Which of the following is given in the field of  International Understanding  ?
    1.The Bourlog Award
    2.The Bhatnagar Award
    3.The Jawaharlal Nehru Award
    4.The Bowelay Award
    5.None of these
    Answer – 3.The Jawaharlal Nehru Award
    Explanation :
    The Jawaharlal Nehru Award for International Understanding is an international award presented by the Government of India. It was established in 1965 and is administered by the Indian Council for Cultural Relations (ICCR) to people “for their outstanding contribution to the promotion of international understanding, goodwill and friendship among people of the world”.

  6. The Lalit Kala Akademi Award is given in the field of ………………….
    5.None of these
    Answer – 4.Arts
    Explanation :
    The Lalit Kala Akademi Award is given in the field of Arts

  7. For outstanding contribution to which one of the following’ fields is  Tansen  Samman ?
    5.None of these
    Answer – 1.Music
    Explanation :
    The prestigious ‘National Tansen Samman’ is a musical award conferred to the exponents[ of Hindustani music.

  8. Which recognises contribution in medical science ?
    1.The Lalit Kala Academy Ratna
    2.The Jnanpith Award
    3.The Vyas Samman
    4.The Dhanvantari Award
    5.None of these
    Answer – 4.The Dhanvantari Award
    Explanation :
    The prestigious award Dhanvantari Award which recognises contribution in medical science, is awarded annually since 1972.

  9. Contribution to which field is honoured by the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna award ?
    5.None of these
    Answer – 2.Sports
    Explanation :
    The Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna (RGKR) is India’s highest honour given for achievement in sports, given by the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports

  10. …………………………….. is given to distinguished Scientist of the Country in recognition of their outstanding contributions.
    1.The Vikram Sarabhai award
    2.The Homi Bhabha Award
    3.The Jamnalal Bajaj Award
    4.The BC Roy Award
    5.None of these
    Answer – 1.The Vikram Sarabhai award
    Explanation :
    The Vikram Sarabhai memorial award was instituted by the Indian Science Congress Association in 1997-98. The award carries a Gold Medal and is given in every alternate years. The award is given to distinguished Scientist of the Country in recognition of their outstanding contributions.