Current Affairs PDF

G-7 Foreign Ministers Meeting held in Lucca, Italy

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

On April 10, 2017, Foreign Ministers from the Group of Seven (G-7) countries gathered for the annual meeting in Lucca, Italy.

Foreign Ministers of G-7 countries at meeting in Lucca, Italy:

Foreign Minister/SecretaryCountry
Rex TillersonUnited States
Boris JohnsonUnited Kingdom
Sigmar GabrielGermany
Christia FreelandCanada
Jean-Marc AyraultFrance
Fumio KishidaJapan
Angelina AlfanoItaly

Federica Mogherini, the EU High Representative for Foreign and Security Policy also attended this meeting.

Key Issue discussed at G-7 Meeting:

Latest conflicts in Syria, dominated the G-7 foreign ministers meeting. United States and its allies (including G-7 countries) believed that Syrian Govt. headed by Bashar al-Assad had used chemical weapons to attack a rebel-controlled town last week in which 87 civilians were killed. Reacting to this, US fired multiple missiles at Syrain Govt.’s airbase.

  • G-7 countries have insisted that Russia should stop giving support to Syrian President G-7 Foreign Ministers Meeting held in Lucca, ItalyBashar al-Assad. Imposing further sanctions on Russia is also being considered as an option. Russia has negated the claims of chemical weapons being used and is adamant to continue lending it support to Syrian President Bashar al-Assad.
  • Deliberations on this issue along with other strategic issues will continue, and major decisions can be expected during G7 Leaders’ Summit which is scheduled to be held on 26th-27th May 2017 in Taormina, Italy.

Quick Facts about G-7:

The Group of 7 (G7) is a group of seven major advanced economies viz. United States, United Kingdom, Canada, France, Germany, Italy and Japan. The European Union is also represented within the G7. These countries including European Union represent 70% of the net global wealth.

  • Earlier, Canada was not a part of this group. It joined in 1976 and thereafter the group was referred to as G-7. In 1998 even Russia joined G-7, making it G-8. But in 2014 it was ejected when it annexed the Ukrainian territory of Crimea.
  • G-7’s key activity is to share views on short term economic outlook of global economy by taking into consideration monetary policies and trade equations.
  • G7 presidency rotates annually between member countries. Presidency for the year 2017 is held by Italy. Canada will hold the presidency in 2018.