Current Affairs PDF

UNESCO Recognises Venkatraipur & Noliasahi of Odisha as ‘Tsunami Ready’; India Becomes 1st Country in Indian Ocean Region to Receive the Honour

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here



United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organisation (UNESCO) recognises Venkatraipur and Noliasahi, villages of Odisha as ‘Tsunami Ready’ for their overall preparedness to face the tsunami.With this recognition, Odisha became the first state in the India and India became the 1st Country in the Indian Ocean region to achieve the honour from the Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission (IOC) of UNESCO.

Note – Venkatraipur (Boxipalli) village is in Rangeilunda block in Ganjam district & Noliasahi village of Ersama block in Jagatsinghpur district.

Certification of Recognition:

On 7th August 2020, Over a virtual event in the presence of International and national delegates the certification of recognition was presented to the communities of Venkatraipur and Noliasahi and P K Jena, Managing Director of Odisha State Disaster Management Authority (OSDMA), also received the certification from UNESCO.

Odisha State Disaster Management Authority (OSDMA):

i.Odisha State Disaster Management Authority(OSDMA) was established following the 1999 super cyclone, implemented the Tsunami Ready Programme in Odisha.

ii.Odisha aims to make the 326 coastal villages and urban local bodies as “Tsunami Ready” over a year of time.

Indian Ocean Tsunami Ready Programme:

Indian Ocean Tsunami Ready Programme of IOC- UNESCO is a programme based on the community performance to facilitate tsunami preparedness with the collaboration of the Community, leaders, national and local emergency management agencies.


  • To improve the coastal community’s preparedness for tsunami emergencies.
  • To reduce the loss of life and properties.
  • To ensure structural and systematic approach to establish community preparedness.

About Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission (IOC):

Executive Secretary & Assistant Director General of UNESCO for IOC– Vladimir Ryabinin
Head Office– Paris, France

About Odisha State Disaster Management Authority (OSDMA):

Managing Director– Pradeep Kumar Jena
Head Office– Bhubaneswar, Odisha

Recent Related News:

i.The central government has included grand Konark Sun Temple, the UNESCO (United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization) world heritage site in Odisha & Statue of Unity in Gujarat in the Iconic Tourist Sites list.

ii.‘Pink City’ Jaipur received UNESCO World Heritage City certificate during Audrey Azoulay’s visit to Rajasthan, Ahmedabad became the first city of India to get the World Heritage City tag.