Current Affairs PDF

E-Tourist Visa scheme extended to 37 more countries

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

E-Visa facility would be extended to 37 more countries to attract maximum foreign tourists in the country. It was announced by Tourism ministry at Indian Association of Tour Operators (IATO), New Delhi.(Minister of Tourism – Shri. Shripad Yasso Naik) (Tourism secretary – Vinod Zuthsi)

Currently, there are e-Visa facilities to 113 countries which will go up to 150.

A total of 22,286 tourists used e-Visa facility to visit India in August this year, compared to 2705 in August, 2014

About E – Tourist Visa

E-Tourist Visa


  • To make travel to India trouble-free and unforgettable for foreign tourists, GOI launched e-Tourist Visa scheme on November 27, 2014 to 43 countries from nine designated Indian Airports. The list has been further expanded to 113 countries as on August 15, 2015
  • The Indian e-Tourist visa can be obtained online, instead of applying by sending in your original passport and documents.
  • The earlier name was “visa on arrival” which caused confusion since the application must be submitted and approved before traveling to India.
  • A tourist should apply for a visa online at least three days in advance, pay the fee, and carry a print of the travel authorisation to get the necessary stamp at the immigration checkpoint to enter the country.