Current Affairs PDF

‘E-Daakhil’ portal for e-filing of Consumer Complaints becomes operational in 15 States/UTs

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

E-Daakhil portal for consumer grievance redressal now operational in 15 states, UTs‘E-Daakhil’ portal which was launched by National Consumer Dispute Redressal Commission (NCDRC) in September, 2020 for Consumer Grievance Redressal (e-filing)  is now operational in 15 States/UTs across India.

  • “” has been developed by the National Informatics Centre (NIC).
  • e-filing of consumer complaints in Consumer Commissions & online payment of fees for filing a complaint is mandated under Consumer Protection Act, 2019 which came into force in July, 2020.
  • Totally 444 locations including NCDRC, State Commissions & District Commissions  have provisions for e-filing of complaints.
  • Department of Consumer Affairs, Ministry of Consumer Affairs, Food & Public Distribution has been following up with States & UTs in India for the launch of e-filing.


  • Using the portal consumers & their advocates can file consumer complaints  from anywhere.
  • It also allows consumer commissions to check the complaints online to accept, reject or forward the complaint to concerned commission for further processing.
  • It also has features like e-Notice, case document download link & Video Conferencing hearing link, filing written response by opposite party, fling rejoinder by complainant & alerts through SMS/Email.
  • In order to facilitate rural consumers for e-filing, Common Service Centres (CSC) are also being integrated into the E-Daakhil portal.
  • Delhi was the 1st state to implement e-filing followed by Maharashtra, Andaman & Nicobar Islands, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Jharkhand, Gujarat, Chandigarh, Andhra Pradesh, Odisha, Uttar Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh, Punjab, Karnataka & Haryana.

National Consumer Dispute Redressal Commission (NCDRC):

  • NCDRC is a quasi-judicial commission which was setup in 1988 under the Consumer Protection Act of 1986.
  • It is usually headed by a sitting or retired judge of the Supreme Court of India.

Recent Related News:

i.The Consumer Protection Act (CPA), 2019 replaced the old Consumer Protection Act 1986, it has come into force w.e.f. July 20, 2020 aiming to enforce and protect the rights of consumers, and provide an effective mechanism to address consumer grievances.

About National Consumer Dispute Redressal Commission (NCDRC):
President – Justice R K Agrawal, former judge of the Supreme Court of India
Headquarters – New Delhi

About Ministry of Consumer Affairs, Food & Public Distribution:
Union Minister – Piyush Goyal (Rajya Sabha MP representing Maharashtra)
Minister of State – Danve Raosaheb Dadarao (Lok Sabha MP, Constituency – Jalna, Maharashtra)