Current Affairs PDF

Dr. Rajiv Joshi won the Inventor of the year Award, NYIPLA 2020

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

Indian-American IBM scientist Rajiv Joshi bags inventor of the year awardIBM Academy of Technology member Dr. Rajiv Joshi, an Indian-American scientist won The New York Intellectual Property Law Association (NYIPLA) 2020 Inventor of the Year Award, to honour for his work in advancing the electronic industry and improving artificial intelligence (AI) capabilities. He received the award through an online interview.

Key Points:

i.Dr. Joshi’s inventions like novel interconnect process technology for scaling, machine learning techniques for predictive failure analytics, high bandwidth, high performance and low power integrated circuits and memories and their usage in hardware accelerators for the applications in AI helps in advancing day-to-day life, global communications, medical fields etc.

ii.Inventor of the year is awarded every year to honour the contribution of an inventor towards society and the winner will be awarded $5,000 (Rs. 3.78 Lakhs)

Background of Dr.Joshi:

i.He graduated from Indian Institute of Technology(IIT), Bombay and has an MS degree from Massachusetts Institute of Technology(MIT) and PhD in mechanical/electrical engineering from Columbia University, New York.

ii.He works for the IBM Thomas Watson Research Center, New York as the Master Inventor with more than 255 patented inventions in the United States and more than 350 international patents.

iii.He is a fellow of Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and his works have been published as reference in more than 200 publications and journals.

Other Awards:

i.He holds the Master Inventor title of IBM since 1997.

ii.He received the IEEE Circuits and System Society’s Industrial Pioneer Award, in 2013.

iii.He was inducted into the New Jersey Inventor Hall of Fame, in 2014

iv.In 2018, He Received the IEEE Daniel E. Noble Award for Emerging Technology.

President- Colman B. Ragan
President-Elect- Robert M.Isackson
Established- March 7, 1922