Current Affairs PDF

CPCB’s National AQI: Delhi is not the Pollution Capital

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

National pollution watchdog “Central Pollution Control Board’s (CPCB)” has released its latest report “National Air Quality Indices (AQI)” on the comparison of pollution levels among 24 Indian cities in the month of January 2016. The comparison has been shown with a colour code and a numerical value.

  • In accordance with the report, interestingly, Delhi is not the pollution capital of India but still it has been ranked with “very poor” score of 362.

CPCB’s National AQI Delhi is not the Pollution CapitalEvaluation of AQI
AQI is evaluated on the premise of the concentrations of 7 pollutants which include particulate Matter (PM2.5 fine, respirable particles), sulphur dioxide (SO2), nitrogen dioxide (NO2), carbon monoxide (CO), ozone (O3), ammonia (NH3) and lead (Pb).

Key Highlights of Report

  • As per report, Varanasi and Muzaffarpur are leading the list with “severe” AQI values of 409.
  • Cities of UP and Bihar has been followed by Faridabad with “worse” AQI of 399, Patna (388), Agra (372) and Delhi with “very poor” score of 362.
  • There are only 3 cities in the list with moderate air quality which include – Silicon Valley of India (Bengaluru), Haldia and Panchkula.

About Central Pollution Control Board:
CPCB is a statutory organisation under the Ministry of Environment and Forests (MoEF).It has 7 zonal offices and 5 laboratories. It advises the central government to prevent and control water and air pollution.

  • Establishment – 1974
  • Headquarter – New Delhi
  • Chairman – Arun Kumar Mehta

About National Air Quality Index (AQI)
In 2014, Minister for Environment, Forests & Climate Change Prakash Javadekar launched National AQI under the Swachh Bharat Abhiyan.

  • It is outlined as “One Number- One Colour-One Description” for the common man to judge the air quality within his vicinity.
  • There are 6 colour categories depending upon numerical value – Good (0-50), Satisfactory (51-100), Moderate (101-200), Poor (201-300), Very poor (301-400) and Severe (401-500).