Current Affairs PDF

CORAS of Indian railways launched by railway minister Piyush Goyal

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

On august 04,2019 CORAS (Commandos For Railway Security), a special railway unit for the Indian railways  and a new establishment manual for the Railway Protection Force(RPF) was launched by union Railway Minister Shri Piyush Goyal at a function in New Delhi railway station.CORAS

Key points

  • The CORAS induction was planned by the RPF and the CORAS team will be provided with the best modern equipment and world class training.
  • A state of the art commando training centre is to be established in Jagadhri, Haryana.
  • Commendable work of the RPF was appreciated by the railway minister and specially lauded the efforts of RPF soldier Shivranjan Gurjar who rescued 8 lives in flood hit Gujarat.

Cctv cameras:
CCTV (Closed Circuit Television) cameras are to be fixed at every railway station to ensure the safety and security of the passengers. The camera links can be handled by local stations, RPF, Government Railway Police(GRP), and also in the minister’s office.

It is a seperate Commando unit of the Railway Protection Force.
Vision: To respond in situations pertaining to damage, disturbance, disruption of train operations, providing safety to passengers, service during disaster situations in railway area.


  • Willing young staff of RPF aged between 30-35 years and having high physical standards will be picked up for the CORAS.
  • Commando Coys Will be deployed in Left Wing Extremism (LWE)/ insurgency/terrorism affected railway areas.

Other members present:
The other members present during the launch were

  • Vinod Kumar Yadav, Chairman of Railway Board.
  • Shri Arun Kumar,Director General(DG) of RPF
  • Shri T.P Singh, General Manager, Northern Railway and other railway officials.

About RPF
♦ Founded-  27 July 1872.
♦ Act- Railway Protection Force act 1957.
♦ Motto- Attaining honour.
♦ Headquarters- New Delhi.

About the Indian railways
♦ Headquarters- New Delhi.
♦ Minister of state- Angadi Suresh Channabasappa (Constituency- Belagavi,Karnataka).
♦ Piyush Goyal constituency- Maharashtra.