Current Affairs PDF

Cabinet approves National Medical Commission Bill on November 15, 2017

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

On December 15, 2017, Union Cabinet approved the draft National Medical Commission Bill, which seeks to replace Medical Council of India (MCI) with a new body, to ensure transparency.

Background Information:Medical Council of India (MCI), the regulator of medical education in India, has long been criticised for corruption, lack of accountability and unethical practices.

  • The move to set up National Medical Commission is based on recommendations of the Ranjit Roy Chaudhury Committee and a Parliamentary standing committee.
  • Union Law and Justice Minister, Ravi Shankar Prasad has stated that National Medical Council Bill will be tabled in Parliament in the current session.
  • If passed by the parliament, it would replace the Medical Council Act of 1956.

Salient Features of Draft National Medical Commission Bill:

The Bill seeks to set up a 25-member National Medial Commission (NMC) to regulate medical education in India.
National medical commission bill

  • The NMC will have a hybrid structure with a few non-medical members. Chairman as well as members of NMC will be nominated by the Government.
  • Four separate boards will be constituted to oversee functions like undergraduate and postgraduate courses, registration and ethics enforcement in medical profession across India.
  • Establishment of NMC will also reduce the number of permissions needed to start and recognise undergraduate and post graduate courses.
  • A common entrance exam and licentiate exam for all medical graduates have also been proposed in this draft bill.
  • The bill includes provisions that are geared towards opening up of the medical education sector, as addition in the number of undergraduate and postgraduate seats will consequentially bring in new investment in the sector.

Quick Facts about Medical Council of India (MCI):

  • Formed in – 1933
  • Headquarters – New Delhi
  • Current President – Dr. Jayshreeben Mehta