Current Affairs PDF

Asian Athletics Championship 2019

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

The 23rd edition of Asian Athletics Championship was held from 21 to 24 April 2019 at the Khalifa International Stadium in Doha, Qatar. India won 17 medals which include 3 gold, 7 silver, and 7 bronze, finished fourth in the tournament.

Asian Athletics Championship 2019There are total 43 nations competing at Asian Athletics Championship 2019 and 43 events are conducted. This Asian Athletics Championship event is organized by the Asian Athletics Association (AAA). The previous Asian Athletics Championship took place at the Kalinga Stadium in Bhubaneswar, India from 6 to 9 July, 2017.
Top 5 Countries:

Rank Nation Gold Silver Bronze Total
1  Bahrain (BHR) 11 7 4 22
2  China (CHN) 9 13 7 29
3  Japan (JPN) 5 4 9 18
4  India (IND) 3 7 7 17
5  Uzbekistan (UZB) 3 0 2 5

Indian Athlete’s in Asian Athletics Championships 2019

Highlights :
Gomathi Marimuthu wins gold in women’s 800m race

  • A 30- year old Gomathi Marimuthu has won India’s first gold medal of the Asian Athletics Championship 2019, in 800m race.
  • She clocked at 2:02.70s, a personal best timing. Her previous best is 2:03.21s in Federation Cup held in Patiala.
  • Wang Chunyu of China and Margarita Mukasheva of Kazakhstan won silver and bronze respectively.

Tejinder Pal Singh Toor wins gold in men’s shot put
The 24-year old Tejinder Pal Sing Toor won gold medal in men’s shot put event with an opening round throw of 20.20 metres which is his seasons best. He has won India’s second gold medal at the tournament.

PU Chitra wins gold in women’s 1500m race

  • A 23-year old PU Chitra won the 3rd gold at the Asian Athletics Championship, Doha, Qatar in 1500m race.
  • She clocked at 4:14.56s to become the first Indian athlete to defend her Asian Athletics Championship in the ongoing event. Last time also PU Chitra won gold medal at 1500m race in the 2017 Asian Athletics Championship held in Bhubaneswar.
  • Gashaw Tigest and Winfred Mutile, two Bahraini runners won silver and bronze respectively.

Medal’s Won by Indian Athlete’s

S. No Event Athlete Name
1. Men’s shot put Tejinder Pal Singh Toor
2. Women’s 800metres Gomathi Marimuthu- PB (2:02.70s)
3. Women’s 1500m race PU Chitra
4. Men’s 1500m race Ajay Kumar Saroj
5. Men’s 3000m steeplechase Avinash Sable
6. Women’s heptathlon Swapna Barman
7. Women’s javelin throw Annu Rani
8. Men’s javelin throw Shivpal Singh- PB (86.23m)
9. Women’s 4x400m relay Prachi, M.R.Poovamma, Saritaben Laxmanbhai Gayakwad and VK Vismaya
10. 4x400m mixed relay Muhammed Anas, M.R. Poovamma, VK Vismaya and Arokia Rajiv
11. Men’s 10,000m Gavit Murali Kumar – PB(28:38.34s)
12. Men’s 400m hurdles Jabir Madari Palliyalil- PB(49.13s)
13. Women’s 200m Dutee Chand
14. Women’s 400m M R Poovamma
15. Women’s 5000m race Parul Chaudhary – PB(15:36.03s)
16. Women’s 10,000 m Sanjivani Jadhav –PB(32:44.96s)
17. Women’s 400m hurdles Saritaben Laxmanbhai Gayakwad

* PB-refers Personal Best
About Asian Athletics Association (AAA)
♦ Headquarter: Singapore
♦ President: Dahlan Al Hamad