Current Affairs PDF

Andrew Wiles awarded with the Nobel prize of Mathematics

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

Sir Andrew wiles has been awarded the 2016 Abel Prize, regarded as mathematics’ equivalent of the Nobel Prize, for his stunning proof of Fermat’s Last Theorem which baffled the Mathematicians for more than 300years.

Fermat’s Theorem

There are no whole number solutions to the equation xn + yn = zn when n is greater than 2, unless xyz=0

About Andrew Wiles

  • Wiles studied mathematics as an undergraduate at Merton College, Oxford
  • He did Postgraduate at Clare College, Cambridge. He was awarded his PhD in 1980 for his work on elliptic curvesAndrew Wiles awarded with the Nobel prize of Mathematics
  • Wiles worked at Princeton from 1982 to 2010. In 2010 he returned to Oxford as a Royal Society Research Professor
  • He proclaimed of having found the proof of Fermat’s theorem in 1993
  • He proved the Fermat’s theorem by way of the modularity conjecture for semistable elliptic curves, opening a new era in number theory
  • He published his theory in Annals of Mathematics in 1995, with the title Modular Elliptic Curves and Fermat’s Last Theorem

About Abel’s prize

  • The Abel Prize is an international award for outstanding scientific work in the field of mathematics
  • It also honours contributions including mathematical aspects of computer science, mathematical physics, probability, numerical analysis, scientific computing, statistics, and also applications of mathematics in the sciences
  • The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters awards the Abel Prize based upon recommendations from the Abel Committee
  • The Prize is named after the exceptional Norwegian mathematician Niels Henrik Abel (1802–1829)
  • The prize carries a cash award of 500,000 GBP or 600,000 Euro or 700,000 USD
  • It is been given since 2003

Points to note

  • The Abel prize was awarded to John Nash and Louis Nirenberg last year
  • Andrew Wiles is a British mathematician who won Rolf Schock Prize, the Ostrowski Prize, the Wolf Prize, the Royal Medal of the Royal Society, the U.S. National Academy of Science’s Award in Mathematics, and the Shaw Prize
  • He is also the only person to receive a Silver plaque from The International Mathematical Union