Current Affairs PDF

Abel Prize 2015 jointly won by Nash and Nirenberg

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

American Mathematician Dr. John Forbes Nash and Canada-born American Louis Nirenberg have been named as joint winners of the 2015 Abel Prize, which is considered as the Nobel Prize in Mathematics. The Abel Prize is awarded by the Norwegian Academy of Sciences & Letters since 2003. The award is named in the memory of famous Norwegian mathematician Niels Henrik Abel. The award comprises a cash reward of US$750,000. 

The press release states that “Nash and Nirenberg are recognized for striking and seminal contributions to the theory of nonlinear partial differential equations and its applications to geometric analysis”.

Nash was conferred with Nobel Prize in economics in 1994 for his work in game theory. The 2001 film “A Beautiful Mind” was based on Nash’s life and his role was portrayed by actor Russell Crowe.  The Mathematical giants will accept the prize from King Harald V of Norway during a ceremony in Oslo on May 19.