Current Affairs PDF

7th Community Radio Sammelan for 2019 held in New Delhi

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

On August 27, 2019, The 7th Community Radio Sammelan for the year 2019 was inaugurated by Shri Amit Khare, Secretary, Ministry of Information & Broadcasting at Dr. BR Ambedkar Bhawan, New Delhi in the presence of the representatives of all operational Community Radio Stations across India along with senior officials of Ministry of Information & Broadcasting. It was held from August 27-29, 2019 and was organized by Ministry of Information & Broadcasting. The theme of this year’s Sammelan is ‘Community Radio for SDGs’ (Sustainable Development Goals).7th Community Radio Sammelan for 2019i. Other initiatives: The minister inaugurated a poster exhibition of Community Radio Stations. A short film on the step by step process for setting up of Community Radio Station was also launched on the occasion.
ii. Plenary sessions: The plenary sessions on “The SDG Journey – leaving no one behind” was chaired by Shri Rakesh Ranjan, Senior Consultant, Niti Aayog, and a session on “Community Radio: Issues, Ideas and Experiences” was chaired by Ms. Esther Kar, Former Director General, Press Information Bureau. This session focussed on content management, research, production, broadcasting and dissemination of content through social media.

Shri Prakash Javadekar presented National Awards for Community Radio for 2018 and 2019
Union Minister of Environment, Forest and Climate Change and Minister of Information and Broadcasting Shri Prakash Javadekar presented the National Awards for Community Radio for 2018 and 2019. He also released the booklet “Jan Connect: Clear Intentions, Decisive Actions” on key decisions taken by the Government in the first 75 days of its second tenure. The booklet has been brought out by Bureau of Outreach and Communication, Ministry of Information & Broadcasting.

The Awards for the years 2018 and 2019 were given in the following five categories:

  • Thematic
  • Community Engagement
  • Promoting Local Culture
  • Most Creative/Innovative
  • Sustainability Category

List of Awardees

Thematic Category
First prizeRadio Namaskar, Odisha

Programme: Ama Khadya

Friends Radio, Tripura

Programme: Health and Women

Second prizeRadio Sharda, Jammu & Kashmir

Programme: Wangegvoor

Salaam Namaste, Uttar Pradesh

Programme: Salaam Shakti

Third prizeRadio MGIRI, Maharashtra

Programme: Unch Majha Zoka

i. Waqt Ki Awaaz, Uttar Pradesh

Programme: Chaukanni Chaardiwari

ii. Alfaz-e-Mewat, Haryana

Programme: Kanoon Ki Baat

Community Engagement Category
First prizeRadio Madhuban, Rajasthan

Programme: Nanhe Sitare

Radio Namaskar, Odisha

Programme: Ama Priya Pakhala

Second prizeKisan Radio, Uttar Pradesh

Programme: Chalo Gaon Ki Aur

Pant Nagar Janvani, Uttarakhand

Programme: Ye Kahan Aa Gaye Hum

Third prizeRadio Pragya, Uttar Pradesh

Programme: Ladies First

KRDA Community Ente Radio, Kerala

Programme: Sneha Sena

Promoting Local Culture Category 
First prizePant Nagar Janvani, Uttarakhand

Programme: Anchal Ki Surabhi

Radio Madhubhan, Rajasthan

Programme: Gaon Ri Baten

Second prizeRadio Sharda, Jammu & Kashmir

Programme: Peindh Te Purran

Radio Yerlavani, Maharashtra

Local Cultural Programme

Third prizeRadio Madhuban, Rajasthan

Programme: Opno Samaj

Radio Media Village, Kerala

Programme: Nattu Nanma

Most Creative/Innovative Category 
First prizeSanjha Radio, Haryana

Programme: Sports Ki Baat Sanjha Radio Ke Sath,

Radio Sarang, Karnataka

Programme: Antarabelaku

Second prizeRadio Media Village, Kerala

Programme: Sukritham

Samudayik Rudi No Radio, Gujarat

Programme: Vasant Panchami

Third prizei. Radio Pragya, Uttar Pradesh

Programme: Master Mind

ii. Radio Namaskar, Odisha

Programme: Sishu Hasile Duniya Hasiba

KSR Community Radio, Tamil Nadu

Programme: Mattram

Sustainability Category
First prizeRadio Mattoli, KeralaSanjha Radio, Haryana
Second prizeSanjha Radio, HaryanaRadio Media Village, Kerala

DoT allocates two additional dedicated frequencies for running Community Radio – 89.6 and 90.0 MHz
Shri Amit Khare, Secretary, Ministry of Information & Broadcasting informed that Department of Telecommunications, Ministry of Communications has agreed to dedicate 2 additional frequencies viz. 89.6 and 90.0 MHz for running Community Radio Stations. Recent hike in advertisement rates for print and electronic media, the advertisement rates for Community Radio will be revised by the Bureau of Outreach and Communication within 2 months.

  • Community Radio Cell will be set up in the Ministry for grievance redressal and collating actionable suggestions received from stakeholders.
  • Media and Communication Plan of all Ministries of the Government must include Community Radio to leverage their deeper ground level penetration.
  • Compendium of all the programmes running on Community Radio Stations all across the country released by Union Minister Shri Prakash Javadekar will be distributed to all District Collectors to sensitize them for utilization of Communication Radio in their local communication endeavours.
  • National Sammelan will be held annually, along with Regional Sammelans which be held in different corners in India.

About Ministry of Information & Broadcasting:
Headquarters: New Delhi
Constituency of Shri Prakash Javadekar: Rajya Sabha- Madhya Pradesh