Current Affairs PDF

71st annual Cannes Film Festival was held from 8 to 19 May 2018

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

The 71st annual Cannes Film Festival was held from 8th to 19th May 2018 in Cannes, France.

71st annual Cannes Film Festival was held from 8 to 19 May 2018i. Australian Actress Cate Blanchett acted as the president of the jury (for In competition Awards)

ii. The official festival poster of the Cannes Film Festival features Jean-Paul Belmondo and Anna Karina from Jean-Luc Godard’s 1965 film Pierrot le Fou.

iii. Asghar Farhadi’s psychological thriller Everybody Knows, starring Javier Bardem, Penélope Cruz and Ricardo Darín, opened the festival. It was the second Spanish –language film to open Cannes after Bad Education in 2016.

iv. The Closing Film was The Man Who Killed Don Quixote.

v. The event was hosted by Eduoard Baer .

vi. Danish film director Lars von Trier returned to Cannes with his film The House That Jack Builtafter he was declared “persona non grata” at the 2011 festival.

vii. There were 21 films for ‘in competition’ category and 18 films for ‘Un certain Award’ category.

Key Points :

Awards and their catagories:

  •  In competition

Name of award Winner Film
Palm d’OR Hirokazu Kore-eda Shoplifters (Japan)
Grand Prix Spike Lee BlacKkKlansman (US)
Best Director Pawel Pawlikowski Cold War (Poland)
Best Screenplay 1.  Alice Rohrwacher
2.   Jafar Panahi
1.  Happy as Lazzaro (italy)
2.   3 Faces (Iran)
Best Actress Samal Yeslyamova Ayka (Kazakhstan)
Best Actor Marcello Fonte Dogman (Italy)
Jury Prize Nadine Labaki Capernaum (Lebanon)
Special Palm d’Or Jean-Luc Godard The Image Book (Frace, Switzerland)

  • Un Certain Regard:

Name of Award Winner Film
Un Certain Regard Award Ali Abbasi Border (Sweden, Denmark)
Un Certain Jury Award Jaoa Salavia & Renee Nader Messora The Dead and the Others(Brazil , Portugal)
Un Certain Award for Best Director Sergei Loznitsa Donbass (Germany, Ukraine, France , Netherlands, Romania)
Un Certain Award for Best Performance Victor Polster Girl (Belgium)
Uncertain Award for Best Screenplay Meryem Ben’m Brek Aloisi Sofia (Belgium)

  • Cinefondation

Name of Award Winner Film
First Prize Diego Cespedes The Summer of the Electric Lion
Second Prize 1. Igor Poplauhin
2. Shen Di
1. Calendar
2. The Stroms in Our Blood
Third Prize Lucia Bulgheroni Inanimate

  • Cannes Classic :

2001: A Space Odyssey by Stanley Kubrick (United States).

  • Director’s Fortnight:

Film: Climax , Directed by : Gasper Noe, Country : France .

  • International Critics Week :

Film: Diamantino , Directed by : Gabriel Abrantes & Daniel Schmidt , Countries : France , Portugal and Brazil.

  • Independent awards:

i. FIPRESCI Prizes:

Name of the Award Winner Film
In competition Lee Chang-dong Burning
Un Certain Regard Lukas Dhont Girl
Inernational Critic’s Week Zsofia Szilagyi One Day

ii.  Ecumenical Prize:

Name of the award Winner Film
Prize of the Ecumenical Jury Nadine Labaki Capernaum
Special Mention Spike Lee BlacKkKlansman

iii.  International Critics’ Week:

Name of the award Winner Film
Nespresso Grand Prize Gabriel Abrantes & Daniel Schmidt Diamantino
Leica Cine Discovery Prize for Short Film Jacqueline Lentzou Hector Malot :The Last Day of the Year
Louis Roederer Foundatio Rising Start Award Felix Maritaud Sauvage
Gan Foundation Award for Distribution Rohena Gera Sir
SACD Award Benedict Erlingsson and Olafur Egill Egilsson Woman at War
Canal+ Award for Short Film Elias Belkeddar A Wedding Day

iv.  Directors’ Fortnight:

Name of the Award Winner Film
Art Cinema Award Gasper Noe Climax
SACD Award Pierre Salvadori The Trouble with You
Europa Cinemas Label Award Gianni Zanasi Lucia’s Grace
Illy Short Film Ivete Lucas and Patrick Bresnan Skip Day
Carrosse d’OR Martin Scorsese —-

v. L’Œil d’OR:

Name of the Award Winner Film
L’0Eil d’Or Stefano Savona Samouni Road
Special Mention 1.Michel Toesca
2. Mark Cousins
2. The Eyes of Orson Welles

vi. Queer Palm:

Name of the Award Winner Film
Queer Palm Award Lucas Dhont Girl
Short Film Queer Palm Carolina Markowicz The Orphan

vii. Palm Dog:

Name of the Award Winner Film
Palm Dog Award Canine Cast Dogman
Grand Jury Prize Diamantino
Palm Dog Manitarian Award Venessa Davies and her pug Patrick ———-
Special Jury Prize Security Dogs Lilou, Glock and Evan. ———-

viii.  Prix François Chalais:
François Chalais Prize: Yomeddine by Abu Bakr Shawky

ix. Cannes Soundtrack Award:
Cannes Soundtrack Award: Roma Zver and German Osipov for Summer.

x. Trophée Chopard:
Chopard Trophy: Elizabeth Debicki and Joe Alwyn.

♦ Founded in 1946.