Current Affairs PDF

34th National Rowing Championship – Overview

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

34th Senior National Rowing Championship was held at Hyderabad, Telangana from 25th to 31st January, 2016 which was organised by Rowing Federation of India. There were participants from 20 states and the event was categorised under 10 heads.

  • There were total 27 medals including 9 Gold, 9 Silver and 9 Bronze.

34th National Rowing Championship - OverviewFinal Medal tally of top 5 states

Sr. no. State Gold Silver Bronze Total
1 Punjab 4 1 5
2 All India Police 2 2 4
3 Odisha 2 2
4 Kerala 1 1 2 4
5 Chandigarh 3 3

Here is the list of winners

Category Winner
Senior Women
Open single sculls Navneet Kaur (Pun)
Double sculls Harpreet Kaur & Navneet Kaur (Pun)
Coxless fours Odisha (Pramila Prava Minz, Pratima Puhana, Sanjukta Dung, Manjula Xess)
Pairs Sanjukta Dung & Manjula Xess (Odi)
Senior Men
Single sculls Sandeep Kumar (All India Police)
Lt wt double sculls G. Vishnu Prasad & Arjun B. Panicker (Ker)
Coxless four Punjab (Lachhman Singh, Sushil Kumar, Robin Mangar, Rohit Kumar)
Lt wt coxless fours All India Police (Dharmendra Choudhary, Nitesh Kumar Lall, Ravinderjit Singh, Jagsir Singh)
Pairs Gurwinder Singh & Karamjeet Singh (Pun)

About Rowing Federation of India (RFI):
Established on August 30, 1976, Rowing Federation of India is the central body for the game of rowing in India. It is affiliated with the Indian Olympic Association and Federation Internationale des Societes d’Aviron.

  • Till date the RFI has 20 affiliated state and national bodies under it.
  • Headquarter – Chennai
  • President – Mrs. Rajlaxmi Singh Deo