Current Affairs PDF

3 Indian-origin Scientists elected fellows of UK Royal Society

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

3 India-origin scientists, Krishna Chatterjee, Subhash Khot and Yadvinder Malhi are among the distinguished scientists from across the world, to have been elected Fellows of UK Royal Society for their outstanding contributions to science. They are among the 50 scientists and 10 foreign members who have been elected as Fellows in this year’s announcement.

  • Nobel laureate Venkatraman Ramakrishnan, the current as well as the first Indian-origin President of Royal Society welcomed the latest batch of fellows.

3 Indian-origin Scientists elected fellows of UK Royal SocietyIndian-Origin Scientists and their Accomplishments:

India-origin ScientistRecognition for
Krishna Chatterjee – Head of Clinical Research Facilities at the University of CambridgeDiscoveries of genetic disorders of thyroid gland formation, regulation of hormone synthesis and hormone action, which have advanced the fundamental knowledge of the thyroid axis.
Subhash Khot – Theoretical Computer Scientist, New York UniversityProviding critical insight into unresolved problems in the field of computational complexity. He has provided definition of the “Unique Games” problem, and led the effort to understand its complexity and its pivotal role in the study of efficient approximation of optimisation problems.
Yadvinder Malhi – Ecosystem Ecologist, Oxford UniversityAdvanced understanding of the functioning of terrestrial ecosystems and how they are responding to the pressures of global change, including climate change, degradation and loss of large animals.

Quick Facts about UK Royal Society:

UK’s Royal Society is a premier scientific institution in the world and has played instrumental role in important discoveries in scientific history.

  • Formation Year: 1660
  • Headquarters: London, England
  • Comprises: President of Royal Society, Council of Royal Society and Fellows of Royal Society
  • Current President: Venkatraman Ramakrishnan
  • Fellowship: Eminent Scientists, Engineers and Technologists


  • To promote science and its benefits for humanity
  • Recognising excellence in science
  • Supporting outstanding science contributions to science
  • Providing scientific advice for policy formulation