Current Affairs PDF

2015 International Children’s Peace Prize conferred on Abraham M. Keita

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

Abraham M. Keita (17) from Liberia has been bestowed with International Children’s Peace Prize 2015 during a ceremony in The Hague. He was presented with the prestigious award for demanding justice for children who are victims of physical or sexual violence and for successfully campaigning for the Liberian parliament to adopt the Children’s Law.

  • Prize has been presented to Keita by Nobel Laureate Leymah Gbowee, who was the first Liberian to receive the Nobel Peace Prize in 2011.

2015 International Children's Peace Prize conferred on Abraham M. KeitaAbout Abraham M. Keita
Since 2008, Keita has played a prominent role in the Liberian Children’s Parliament, organising peaceful demonstrations and petitions, and lobbying successfully for children’s participation to be funded directly from the national budget.

  • He also pushes for free quality primary and secondary education for all children.

About International Children’s Peace Prize
The International Children’s Peace Prize is an initiative by Marc Dullaert (Chairman and Founder of the Dutch KidsRights Foundation). It is awarded annually to a child who has made a significant contribution to advocate children’s rights.

  • The first Children’s Peace Prize was launched in November 2005 during the World Summit of Nobel Peace Laureates in Rome.
  • The prize is an initiative of the KidsRights Foundation, an organisation based in Amsterdam, the Netherlands.
  • First prize was conferred posthumously to Nkosi Johnson.
  • Winner receives a 100,000 euro donation to benefit a charitable project for children, as well as a statuette which has been named the Nkosi in Nkosi Johnson’s honour.
  • 2013 winner – Malala Yousafzai, Pakistan
  • 2014 winner – Neha Gupta, United States