Current Affairs PDF

1st Antarrashtriya Yoga Diwas Media Samman to 30 media houses in New Delhi

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

On January 07, 2020 the Union Minister of Information and Broadcasting (MoIB) Shri Prakash Javadekar conferred the 1st edition of the Antarrashtriya Yoga Diwas Samman (AYDMS) to 30 media organisations in New Delhi. The awards were given as an honour to media organisations for contributing to the spread of yoga in the society.Jury: The chairman of the jury of 6 members was Chandramauli Kumar Prasad who is the current chairman of the Press Council of India(PCI).

1st Antarrashtriya Yoga Diwas Samman:

i.Award category: 30 awards in 3 categories were awarded. These include

  • 11 awards under “Best Media Coverage of Yoga in Newspapers” category.
  • 8 awards under “Best Media Coverage of Yoga in Television” category and
  • 11 awards under “Best Media Coverage of Yoga in Radio” category.

ii.The award consists of a medal, plaque, trophy, and a here to know about the awardees.

iii.Members present: The Union Minister of State(MoS- Independent Charge) for AYUSH(Ayurveda, Yoga & Naturopathy, Unani, Siddha, Sowa Rigpa and Homoeopathy) Shri Shripad Yesso Naik; Shri Vikram Sahay, Joint Secretary of MoIB;  Shri Ravi Mittal, secretary of MoIB; Shri Atul Tiwari, additional secretary of MoIB and other officials were present in the event.

The International Day of Yoga:
The day is celebrated annually on June 21st ever since 2015. The idea to celebrate yoga day was 1st proposed by the Indian Prime Minister Shri Narendra Modi during his address at the United Nations General Assembly(UNGA) in September 2014.

About Ministry of Information & Broadcasting:
Fact- The Ministry is functionally organized into three wings such as Information Wing, Broadcasting Wing and Films Wing.
Headquarters- New Delhi.
Secretary- Ravi Mittal.