Current Affairs PDF

18th meeting of SCO Prosecutors General Virtually Attended by India’s SG Tushar Mehta 

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

India participates in 18th meeting of Prosecutors General of SCO via video conferenceOn October 20, 2020, the 18th meeting of Prosecutors General of Shanghai Cooperation Organisation (SCO) Member States was virtually organized by the General Prosecutor’s Office of Uzbekistan from Tashkent where India was represented by Solicitor General (SG) Tushar Mehta.

  • During the meet, Prosecutors agreed to strengthen cooperation in preventing and combating corruption, mutual legal assistance and exchange of regulatory legal acts.
  • It should be noted that India will host the next meeting of Prosecutors General in 2021. Also, it will host the 2020 SCO Council of Heads of Government on November 30th.

Key Points:

–Indian side put forth his commitment towards zero tolerance to corruption and black money and also highlighted Pradhan Mantri Jan Dhan Yojna (PMJDY) which expanded India’s financial architecture. Click Here to Read about PMJDY

–The officials also exchanged the information on modern supervisory practices and effective mechanisms to prevent corruption and ways to combat it.

Participants: Apart from the delegations from SCO member States the event was also attended by the officials from observer states – Belarus, Afghanistan, Iran and Mongolia; dialogue partners – Armenia, Azerbaijan and Cambodia.

Recent Related News:

i.The Union Minister Rajnath Singh, Ministry of Defence (MoD) paid a 3 days visit to Moscow, Russia from September 3-5, 2020 to attend a meeting of the Shanghai Cooperation Organisation (SCO) defence ministers and to hold talks with his Russian counterpart Sergey Shoigu on further boosting bilateral defence cooperation.

ii.Union Minister Dr. Subrahmanyam Jaishankar, Ministry of External Affairs (MEA) had a four-days visit to Russia from September 8-11, 22 to attend the SCO-CFM (Council of Foreign Ministers) Meeting in Moscow.

About Shanghai Cooperation Organisation (SCO):

The SCO comprises eight member states — India, Kazakhstan, China, Kyrgyzstan, Pakistan, Russia, Tajikistan and Uzbekistan

Secretariat– Beijing, China 
Secretary-General– Vladimir Imamovich Norov (Uzbekistan)