Current Affairs PDF

14 scientists conferred with Swarna jayanti fellowships for 2018-19

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

On January 2, 2020, The Union Ministry of Science and Technology, Government of India (GoI), have awarded Swarna Jayanti Fellowships for 2018-19 to 14 Scientists under 40 years of age, associated with innovative research projects and capable of impacting research and development (R&D) work in their respective fields. Key Points:

i.Scientists selected for fellowship out of total 443 applicants through a three-tier process will be allowed to do research work on such topics according to themselves which have remained untouched so far.

ii.The Fellowship was launched by the Government to commemorate 50 years of the country’s independence.

iii.Scientists selected for fellowship and research are supported by the Department of Science and Technology for research work. This includes financial assistance for all research related work as well as fellowship of Rs 25000 per month. Apart from this, scientists are also given research grant of Rs 5 lakh for 5 years in addition to their salary.

List of awardees:

S.No Name Associated with Field
1 Dr. Sheetal Gandotra CSIR-IGIB (CSIR Council of Scientific and Industrial Research – Institute of Genomics and Integrative Biology), Delhi Host-pathogen interactions.
2 Dr. Jitender Giri National Institute of Plant Genome Research (NIPGR),New Delhi Identifying novel genes
3 Dr. Rakesh Singh Laishram Rajiv Gandhi Centre for Biotechnology (RGCB), Thiruvananthapuram,Kerala Role of RNA processing in gene regulation
4 Dr. Vishal Rai Indian Institute of Science Education and Research (IISER), Bhopal, Madhya Pradesh Organic Chemistry & Chemical Biology.
5 Dr. Kanishka Biswas Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research (JNCASR), Bengaluru,Karnataka Renewable Energy & Clean Environmental solutions
6 Dr. Gopalan Rajaraman Indian Institute of Technology Bombay(IITB), Mumbai,Maharashtra Surface chemistry, Computational inorganic chemistry
7 Dr. Apoorva Khare Indian Institute of Science(IISc), Bengaluru,Karnataka Positivity and analysis, representation theory of Lie algebras, and discrete mathematics
8 Dr. Mahender Singh Indian Institute of Science Education and Research (IISER), Mohali,Punjab Algebra and topology.
9 Dr. Subimal Ghosh Indian Institute of Technology Bombay (IITB), Mumbai, Maharashtra Indian Monsoon and Atmosphere- Land Surface Interactions and Hydrology
10 Dr. Smarajit Karmakar Tata Institute of Fundamental Research (TIFR) –Hyderabad,Telangana Various scales in Glass Forming Liquids, Yielding of Amorphous Solids
11 Dr. Arjun Bagchi Indian Institute of Technology(IIT), Kanpur,Uttar Pradesh Holography and String Theory
12 Dr. Anindya Das Indian Institute of Science(IISc), Bengaluru,Karnataka Geophysics and Geochemistry
13 Dr. Yogesh Simmhan Indian Institute of Science(IISc), Bengaluru,Karnataka Temporal Graphs,Scalable Data Management
14 Dr. Shweta Agrawal Indian Institute of Technology- Madras(IITM), Chennai,Tamil Nadu. Cryptography and Information theory