Current Affairs PDF

WTA Toray Pan Pacific Open – An Overview

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

India’s Sania Mirza and her Czech partner Barbora Strycova posted a comfortable straight-set win over unseeded Chinese pair of Chen Liang and Zhaoxuan Yang to lift the Toray Pan Pacific Open title in Tokyo.

About Pan Pacific Open Title :

The Pan Pacific Open currently sponsored by Toray Industries, is an outdoor hard court tennis tournament held annually in Tokyo, Japan. It is a WTA Premier Tournament on the WTA Tour.

  • The tournament was first held in 1976 as the Sillook Open in Tokyo. In 1982 it was renamed the TV Tennis Open and in 1983 it changed yet again to the Queens Grand Prix.
  • Its current name, the Pan Pacific Open, was designated in 1984 and had traditionally been played on indoor carpet at the Tokyo Metropolitan Gymnasium. In 2008 the event moved to outdoor hard courts at the Ariake Coliseum.
  • It was classified as a Tier I tournament from 1993 through 2008. Then it was a Premier 5 tournament until it was downgraded to a Premier event from the 2014 edition onwards, with the Wuhan Open in Wuhan, China acting as its replacement.
  • Martina Hingis holds the record for most singles titles with five.
  • The 2016 Toray Pan Pacific Open was a tennis tournament played on outdoor hard courts. It was the 33rd edition of the Pan Pacific Open, and part of the Premier Series of the 2016 WTA Tour. It took place at the Ariake Coliseum in Tokyo, Japan, on 19–25 September 2016.

Toray Pan Pacific Open Results :

Women’s Single title :

Former world number one Caroline Wozniacki beat Japan’s Naomi Osaka 7-5 6-3 to win the Single’s title in the  Pan Pacific Open in Tokyo for the second time.

  • This is her first title of 2016.

Women’s Double Title:

Sania MirzaIndia’s Sania Mirza partner with Czech partner Barbora Strycova won Women’s double title in Toray Pan Pacific event by defeating  Chinese pair of Chen Liang and Zhaoxuan Yang.

  • This is Sania and Strycova’s second title in three tournaments since they have paired together.
  • Last month, Sania and Strycova won the Cincinnati Open title against the Indian’s previous partner Martina Hingis and Coco Vandeweghe.