Current Affairs PDF

Thirty seven Indian researchers shared among Special Breakthrough Prize for LIGO

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

From various institutions : Raman Research Institute (RRI) and the International Centre for Theoretical Sciences (ICTS)
Situated in : Bengaluru
Awarded Purpose : For the detection of Gravitational waves

About LIGO:

It is an expansion of Laser Interferometer Gravitational-Wave Observatory. It is announced the discovery of Gravitational Waves ,earlier this year. It is considered to be the Prestigious prize. This project highlighted for the humongous Indian participation.Breakthrough prize

Areas : This award given for the everlasting performance in basic science and mathematics

The Foundation  said that the $3 million award will be equally distributed by LIGO founders Ronald WP Drever, Kip S Thorne and Rainer Weiss along with 1012 contibutors.

Other centres from Indian researchers contributed towards this project:

  • TIFR-Mumbai, IUCAA, Pune, IISER Kolkata, IISER Trivandrum, IIT Gandhinagar
  • The ICTS team, led by P Ajith, consists of Abhirup Ghosh, Archisman Ghosh, Arunava Mukherjee, Chandrakant Mishra, Nathan Johnson-McDaniel and Bala Iyer.

Major Field:

  • To establish the consistency of the observed signal with that coming from a binary black hole system predicted by Einstein’s theory.
  • To estimates of the mass and the spin angular momentum of the final black hole, as well as the energy and power release from this astrophysical event .
  • To conduct handful of tests on LIGO scientific Collaboration.

Some of the data analysis computations were performed at the LIGO Tier-3 grid computing facility at ICTS.