Current Affairs PDF

Tang Prize – Asia’s Version of the Nobel

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

The President of Taiwan presented the first Tang Prizes in Taipei. This award honors the outstanding contributions to the Sustainable development, Rule of law, Medicine and Sinology.

The winners are

Sustainable Development – Gro Harlem Brundtland, former Premier of Norway.

Rule of Law – Albie Sachs, former Justice of the Constitutional Court of South Africa

Medicine – James P Allison of US and Tasuku Honjo of Japan

Sinology – Chinese American Yu Ying-shih.

The prize was founded in 2012 with the donation of 3 billion Taiwan dollars by Samuel Yin, one of the richest men in Taiwan.