Current Affairs PDF

Nobel Prize in Physics 2014 for Blue LED

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

The Nobel Prize in Physics 2014 was awarded for the invention of Blue LEDs (Light Emitting Diodes). The award was shared by three scientists namely, Isamu Akasaki and Hiroshi Amano of Japan and U.S. scientist Shuji Nakamura. They have been awarded for their work on environment friendly and efficient light source. The energy source was also found be ever lasting compared to older light sources. It was invented 20 years ago.

Blue LEDs (Light Emitting Diodes)
Blue LEDs (Light Emitting Diodes) Source – The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences.

The physics Nobel has been awarded to 196 other laureates since 1901. The prizes were first awarded in 1901 to honour achievements in science, literature and peace according to the will of dynamite explosive inventor and business tycoon Alfred Nobel.

The special facts about Nobel Prize in Physics are as follows

  • 199 awarded Nobel Laureates till 2014
  • 2 awarded women so far
  • 10 Laureates born in Japan
  • Average age of a Physics Laureate: 55

Source – LiveMint, Nobelprize