Current Affairs PDF

Hockey India Annual Awards: Sreejesh, Deepika walk away with honours

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

In the Hockey India second annual awards for the year 2015 Event various awards have been given away in the function held at Bengaluru.

Hockey Awards

DhruvBatra Player of the Year award:

India goalkeeper PR Sreejesh and Deepika has been honoured with the DhruvBatra Player of the Year award for men and women, respectively, at the Hockey India second annual awards at Bengaluru. Both Sreejesh and Deepika bagged Rs. 25 lakh and a trophy each for their achievement

Lifetime Achievement Award:

The Late Captain ShankarLaxman was posthumously picked for the Lifetime Achievement Award, which carried a purse of Rs. 30 lakh and was accepted by his son, Manohar Singh Shekhawat. Capt. Laxman, a goalkeeper, was part of the Olympic medal-winning teams of 1956 (Melbourne, gold), 1960 (Rome, silver), and 1964 (Tokyo, gold).

Upcoming Players of the Year:

  • Harjeet Singh and Preeti Dubey were declared the Upcoming Players of the Year (under-21), taking home Rs. 10 lakh.
  • Total prize money handed out was in excess of Rs. 2 crore, including a sum of Rs.1 lakh each given to members of the women’s team that qualified for Rio 2016, the junior men’s team that won the eighth Junior Asia Cup, and the senior men’s team that won a bronze at the HWL Final.

Other Awardees: 

The Award winners under the following category have been given Cash Prize of Rs.5, 00,000 and Trophy.

  • Baljit Singh Award for Goalkeeper of the Year – Savita
  • Pargat Singh Award for Defender of the Year – Kothajit Singh
  • Ajit Pal Singh Award Midfielder of the Year – Ritu Rani
  • DhanrajPillay Award for Forward of the Year – Rani
  • JamanLal Sharma Award for Invaluable Contribution- Baldev Singh
  • Hockey India President’s Award for Outstanding Achievement – Madhya Pradesh Hockey Academy
  • The milestone awards were presented to Dharamvir Singh, Kothajit Singh, BirendraLakra and SushilaChanu for making 100th appearance for India.
  • Gurbaj Singh and V R Raghunath were awarded for turning out in India colours for the 200th time.