Current Affairs PDF

Agriculture Ministry,Microsoft India Joined hands to enhance the Farmers income

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

Union Ministry of Agriculture signs MoU with Microsoft

On April 14, 2021, the Ministry of Agriculture & Farmers Welfare (MoA&FW) signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) with Microsoft India to undertake a Pilot Project in 100 villages (of 10 districts) in 6 states. The pilot programme is aimed at reducing input cost and boosting the income of Farmers.

  • For the implementation of the project, Microsoft India has partnered with a local partner ‘CropData Technologies’.
  • The 6 States are Uttar Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh, Gujarat, Haryana, Rajasthan and Andhra Pradesh.
  • The Duration of the project is 1 year and the cost of the project will be borne by the Agriculture Ministry & Microsoft India.
  • In this regard, an MoU and tripartite agreement were exchanged in the presence of Narendra Singh Tomar, Union Minister of MoA&FW and 2 Minister of State for MoA&FW – Parshottam Rupala, Kailash Choudhary.

Pilot Programme

  • Microsoft will develop a farmer interface for smart & well-organized agriculture, which includes post-harvest management and distribution.
  • Various tasks will be carried out in the 100 selected villages for enhancing the income of farmers and making farming easy.
  • It is proposed to undertake similar pilot projects with other public/private players for creating a vibrant digital agro-ecosystem in India.

Recent Related News:

i.On October 28, 2020, Microsoft India collaborated with National Skill Development Corporation (NSDC) to skill over 1 lakh underserved women in India with digital skills over the next 10 months.

About Microsoft 

Global CEO – Satya Nadella
Global Headquarters – Redmond, Washington, USA
Microsoft India President – Anant Maheshwari

About Ministry of Agriculture & Farmers Welfare (MoA&FW):

Union Minister – Narendra Singh Tomar (Morena, Madhya Pradesh)
Minister of State – Parshottam Rupala (Rajya Sabha, Gujarat), Kailash Choudhary (Lok Sabha – Barmer, Rajasthan)