Current Affairs PDF

19 Indian-Canadians Elected to Canadian Parliament

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

On 20th October 2015 Indian origin candidates won a record seat of 19 in Canada’s general election.The Indian – Canadians more than doubled their representation in the Canadian parliament from eight to 19 as Canadians voted out the Conservative Party by handing out a landslide to the Liberal Party on Monday.


The longest serving MP Deepak Obhrai won for the seventh time from Calgary Forest Lawn.

Darshan Kang of the Liberal Party who won the Calgary Skyview seat for his party for the first time in 50 years .

Most Indian-Canadian victories came in Canada’s biggest province of Ontario as many seats in Brampton and Mississauga cities went to Indian-Canadian candidates.

The winners list of liberal party also includes  Ruby Sahota in Brampton North,Sonia Sidhu in Brampton South,,Gagan Sikand in Mississauga Streetsville, Raj Saini  from Kitchener Centre,Bardish Chagger from Waterloo, Yasmin Ratansi Don Valley East,Chandra Arya from Napean ,Harjit Sajjan from British Columbia,Sukh Dhaliwal from Surrey-Newton,Jati Sidhu from Mission-Matsqui-Fraser,Kamal Khera  in Brampton West ,Raj Grewal in Brampton East

In the newly demarcated constituency of Mississauga-Malton in the Toronto area, former MP Navdeep Bains got elected .

Bob Saroya of the Conservative Party won in Markham-Unionville

The first Indian -Canadian to win a seat in the French speaking Quebec-Dorsal-Lachine-LaSalle – is Anju Dhillon of the Liberal Party .
In Surrey Centre, Jasvir Sandhu of the NDP beat Sucha Thind of the Conservative Party and Randeep Sarai of the Liberal Party.