Current Affairs PDF

T. S. Thakur sworn in as the 43rd Chief Justice of India

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

President of India, Shri Pranab Mukherjee has appointed Justice Tirath Singh Thakur, Judge of Supreme Court to be the 43rd Chief Justice of India with effect from 3rd December, 2015 while exercising his powers conferred by clause (2) of article 124 of the Constitution of India.

  • He will succeed H.L. Dattu.
  • His tenure will be till 3rd January, 2017.

T. S. Thakur sworn in as the 43rd Chief Justice of IndiaAbout Justice Tirath Singh Thakur
1952 born enrolled as a Pleader in October 1972 and joined the Chamber of his father Late Shri D.D. Thakur, a Judge of High Court of J &K. He practised in Civil, Criminal, Constitutional, Taxation and Service matters in the High Court of Jammu & Kashmir.

  • He was conferred Doctor of Laws (Honoris Causa) degree by Dr. Ram Manohar Lohiya National Law University, Lucknow on 31st October, 2015.
  • Elected as President of the Bar Association in 1986 then designated as a Senior Advocate in the year 1990.
  • In 1994 he was appointed as Judge of the High Court of Karnataka.
  • In 2004 he was appointed as a Judge of the High Court of Delhi.
  • In 2008, Justice Thakur took over as Chief Justice of the High Court of Punjab and Haryana.
  • In 2009 he was elevated as Judge of Supreme Court
  • In 2014 he took over as Executive Chairman, National Legal Service Authority.

Benches led by him
Justice Thakur headed the bench which had delivered the verdict on reforming the Board of Control for Cricket in India in the wake of the IPL betting and spot-fixing scandal.

  • He monitored Saradha chit fund scam case.
  • He is also hearing the multi-crore NRHM scam in which ex-UP minister Babu Singh Kushwaha is an accused besides other politicians and bureaucrats.


  • Article 124(4) of Constitution of India – Procedure for removal of a Judge of Supreme Court & CJI.
  • The President (Discharge of Functions) Act, 1969CJI shall act as the President of India in the event of the offices of both the President and the Vice President being vacant.
  • Formation – 1950
  • First holder – Justice H. J. Kania
  • Jagdish Singh Khehar will succeed TS Thakur in 2017.