Current Affairs PDF

PM Narendra Modi released country’s first National Disaster Management Plan

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

Prime Minister Narendra Modi released the first ever National plan National Disaster Management Plan (NDMP) to make nation disaster resilient and considerably reduce the loss of lives and assets.

Delegates:                             National-plan-for -disaster-management

  • Minister of Home Affairs Rajnath Singh
  • Minister of State for Home Affairs Kiren Rijiju
  • Senior officers of the Prime Minister’s Office
  • Ministry of Home Affairs and National Disaster Management Authority

Aim: Disaster resilient and reasonably reduce the loss of lives and assets

Themes “Sendai Framework”:

  1. Understanding disaster risk
  2. Improving disaster risk governance
  3. Investing in disaster risk reduction
  4. Disaster preparedness, early warning and recovery better in the aftermath of a disaster

Key Features of the Plan:

  • Covers all angles such as Prevention, Mitigation, Response and Recovery
  • Provides for horizontal and vertical integration among all the agencies and departments of the Government
  • Roles and responsibilities of all levels of Government right up to Panchayat and Urban Local Body level in a matrix format
  • Beneficial for development planning also
  • Categorizes major activities such as early warning, information dissemination, medical care, fuel, transportation, search and rescue, evacuation
  • Designs a generalized framework for recovery and offers flexibility to assess a situation and recovery

Highlights of the National Disaster Management Plan:

National plan incorporates the four priorities enunciated in the Sendai Framework into the planning framework for Disaster Risk Reduction.

  • Understanding Risk
  • Inter-Agency Coordination
  • Investing in Disaster Risk Reduction – Structural Measures
  • Investing in Disaster Risk Reduction – Non-Structural Measures
  • Capacity Development

Response part of the Plan has recognized eighteen broad activities:

  • Early Warning, Maps, Satellite inputs, Information Dissemination
  • Search/ Rescue/ Evacuation of People and Animals
  • Medical Care/ Drinking Water/ Dewatering Pumps/ Sanitation Facilities
  • Food & Essential Supplies/ Power/ Fuel/ Transporation
  • Communication/ Media Relations
  • Housing and Temporary Shelters
  • Rehabilitation and Ensuring Safety of Livestock and other Animals, Veterinary Care
  • Data Collection and Management
  • Relief Employment

Key areas in which Central and State Governments have to take actions to strengthen disaster risk governance

  • Mainstream and integrate Disaster Risk Reduction and Institutional Strengthening
  • Capacity Development
  • Promote Participatory Approaches
  • Work with Elected Representatives
  • Grievance Redress Mechanism

Promote Quality Standards, Certifications and Awards for Disaster Risk Management.