Current Affairs PDF

Padma Awards – 2016

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

The list of the India’s most prestigious and revered honours, “Padma awards” 2016 is out. 112 people will be bestowed with the Padma awards this year.

About Padma Awards
Initiated in 1954, Padma Awards have been announced every year on Republic Day and are conferred by the President at a function in Rashtrapati Bhawan in March/April. The award is given in three following categories:

  • Padma Vibhushan for “exceptional and distinguished service” – 2nd highest civilian award
  • Padma Bhushan for “distinguished service of a high order” – 3rd third highest civilian award
  • Padma Shri is awarded for “distinguished service” – 4th highest civilian award

Padma Awards 2016Here is the List of Padma Vibhushan awardees

Winner Name Winner’s Field
Rajinikanth Actor
Ramoji Rao Media baron
Girija Devi Classical vocalist
Sri Sri Ravi Shankar Spiritual guru
V K Aatre Former DRDO chief
Avinash Dixit Indian—American economist
Jagmohan Former Jammu and Kashmir Governor
Yamini Krishnamurthi Bharatnatyam and Kuchipudi dancer
Dr V Shanta Cancer specialist and chairperson of Adyar Cancer Institute

There are 19 eminent personalities which are chosen for Padma Bhushan awards.

Here is the list of Padma Bhushan awardees

Winner Name Winner’s Field
Anupam Kher Actor
Udit Narayan Singer
Hafeez Contractor Architect
Pallonji Shapoorji Mistry Industrialist
Vinod Rai Former CAG
Sania Mirza Tennis Star
Ram Sutar Indian sculptor
Saina Nehwal Badminton star
Late Swami Dayanand Saraswati Spiritual leader
Swami Tejomayananda Spiritual leaders
Heisnam Kanhailal Theatre personality
R C Bhargava Maruti Suzuki chairman
Indu Jain Chairperson of Bennett, Coleman & Co
Robert Blackwill Former US Ambassador to India
Barjinder Singh Hamdard Ex-parliamentarian, editor of Punjabi Newspaper
Prof N S Ramanuja Tatacharya Sanskrit Scholar
Prof D Nageshwar Reddy Asian Institute of Gastroenterology
Venkata Rama Rao Alla Drug technology

 Here are some Padma Shri awardees

Winner Name Winner’s Field
Ujjwal Nikam Senior lawyer
Saeed Jaffrey (posthumous) Actor
Priyanka Chopra Actor
Ajay Devgn Actor
SS Rajamouli Filmmaker