Current Affairs PDF

India won the men’s Paytm T20I series against Bangladesh held in November 2019

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

The Indian Men’s cricket team won the 3 match Paytm T20I (twenty-twenty International) series against Bangladesh in India for 2-1 held from November 3-10, 2019 in New Delhi, Rajkot (Gujarat) and in Nagpur(Maharashtra). This is India’s first T20 series win at homeland in 2019. The T20I was a part of Bangladesh tour of India 2019-20, which also consists of two test matches, to be held from November 14-26, 2019.
India-won-the-T20I-seriesRecords Broken:
Rohit Sharma records:
i.Breaks Dhoni’s record for most 6s in T20I: Indian cricketer Rohit Sharma broke the record of Mahendra Singh Dhoni for most sixes by an Indian captain in T20I cricket. He went past Dhoni with 37 sixes in 17 innings, while Dhoni holds the record of 34 sixes in 62 innings. Virat Kohli stands third in the list with 26 sixes in 26 innings.

ii.Becomes 1st indian & 2nd man in history to play 100 T20Is: Rohit also became the first Indian as well as the second male cricketer in history to play 100 T20Is. Pakistani cricketer Shoaib Malik is the only cricketer to have played more than 100 T20I with 111 games.

iii.Holds most international sixes: Rohit holds the record for most of sixes in international cricket in 2019. He tops the list with 66 sixes currently. 

Records by Chahar:
i.1st Indian to take T20I hat-trick: Indian Pacer Deepak Chahar took a sensational six-wicket haul, which included a hat-trick. By this he became the first Indian to take hat-trick in the shortest format. 

ii.Records best ever figures in T20I: He broke the record of Srilankan skipper Ajantha Mendis for holding best ever figures where Chahar holds 6 for 7 runs in 3.2 overs. Ajantha’s record was 6 for 8 against Zimbabwe in 2012.

Record by Chahal:
i.Becomes fastest Indian to take 50 T20I wickets: India spinner Yuzvendra Chahal surpassed Jasprit Bumrah to become the fastest Indian bowler to take 50 T20I wickets. This achievement was done by Chahal in just 34 T20I appearances where Bumrah achieved the feat in 41 matches. Ravichandran Ashwin is the only other Indian to have achieved the feat in just 42 matches.

Other highlights:

  • This Test series featured the first day/night match played by either side. The first match of the tour, the T20I in Delhi, was the 1,000th men’s Twenty20 International match to have been played.
  • Player of the series-  Deepak Chahar.
  • Indian T20I captain- Rohit Sharma.
  • Bangladesh T20I captain- Mahmudullah Riyad.

Venue: The T20I series were held in 3 different stadiums and are as follows,
Arun Jaitley Stadium- Delhi.
Saurashtra Cricket Association Stadium- Rajkot, Gujarat.
Vidarbha Cricket Association Stadium-  Nagpur, Maharashtra.

About ICC T20 Men’s World Cup 2020:
ICC- International Cricket Council.
T20 world cup edition- 7th edition.
Host Nation-  Australia.
Duration- 18 October to 15 November 2020.