Current Affairs PDF Sales

First Meeting of National Committee on Ramayana Circuit & Krishna Circuit under Swadesh Darshan Scheme held in Uttar Pradesh

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

Ministry of Tourism hold the “1st Meeting of National Committee on Ramayan Circuit & Krishna Circuit” under Swadesh Darshan Scheme

Host: Minister of Tourism and Culture Dr. Mahesh Sharma

Delegates:  Secretary, Ministry of Tourism Vinod Zutshi, Experts and Senior officers of Ministry of Tourism

Features of Ramayana Circuit:

11 destinations spread across 6 states such as Uttar Pradesh, Bihar, Chattisgarh, Telangana, Karnataka and Tamilnadu have been proposed

11 Destinations:                                        

Uttar Pradeshswadesh

  • Ayodhya
  • Nandigram
  • Shringhverpur
  • Chitrakoot


  • Sitamarhi
  • Buxar
  • Darbhanga


  • Jagdalpur


  • Bhadrachalam


  • Hampi


  • Rameshwaram

Proposed Plan:

Committee by Experts are suggested to add Chitrakoot in Madhya Pradesh, Nashik & Nagpur in Maharashtra and Mahendragiri in Odisha in future

Features of Krishna Circuit:

12 destinations covering 5 states such as Gujarat, Rajasthan, Haryana, Uttar Pradesh and Odisha have been proposed

12 Destinations:


  • Dwarka


  • Nathdwara
  • Jaipur
  • Sikar


  • Kurukshetra

Uttar Pradesh

  • Mathura
  • Vrindavan
  • Gokul
  • Barsana
  • Nandgaon
  • Govarthan


  • Puri

The destinations were approved by the expert committee.

Fund Allocated: Three Hundred Crores Rupees

Swadesh Darshan Scheme:

Established in 2014-15

Aim: To develop theme based tourist circuits in the country on the principles of high tourist value, competitiveness and sustainability in an integrated manner by synergizing efforts to focus on needs and concerns of all stakeholders to enrich tourist experience and enhance employment opportunities

Thirteen circuits were developed

  • North-East India Circuit
  • Buddhist Circuit
  • Himalayan Circuit
  • Coastal Circuit
  • Krishna Circuit
  • Desert Circuit
  • Tribal Circuit
  • Eco Circuit
  • Wildlife Circuit
  • Rural Circuit
  • Spiritual Circuit
  • Ramayana Circuit
  • Heritage Circuit