Current Affairs PDF

India ranks 5th in commonwealth Youth Games 2015 at Samoa

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

The 2015 Commonwealth Youth Games was the 5th Commonwealth Youth Games which started in 2000. They were held in Apia, the capital of Samoa. Up to 1000 young Commonwealth athletes aged 14-18 participated from 63 nations and territories and competed for 107 Gold Medals in 9 sports from 5th Sept – 11th Sept, 2015.

Sports Events

Archery                   Rugby 7’5
Athletics                 Squash
Boxing (Men)          Tennis
Lawn bowls            Weightlifting

Competition Venues

Apia Park Sports Complex
Faleata Sports Complex

  • India ended at the fifth spot in the overall tally with 19 medals.


Final Medal Tally

Ranking Country Gold Silver Bronze Total Medals
1 Australia 25 19 19 63
2 South Africa 13 7 15 35
3 England 12 16 16 40
4 Malaysia 11 3 3 17
5 India 9 4 6 19


Indian Winners List

Name Sport Medal
Prachi Singh (women) Archery Gold
Prachi Singh – Pantelides Thomas (Mixed) Archery Gold
Sasi Kumar Mukund (Men single’s) Tennis Gold
Dhruthi Tatachar Venugopal (Women single’s) Tennis Gold
Sasi kumar Mukund – Dhruthi Tatachar (Mixed) Tennis Gold
Deepak Lather Weightlifting Gold
Jamjang Deru Weightlifting Gold
Tejaswin Shankar (High Jump-Men) Athletics Gold
Mohd Hadeesh (Javelin Throw-Men) Athletics Gold
Gourav Solanki Boxing (52 Kg) Silver
Nishant Kumawat (Boys Recurve Individual) Archery Silver
Jisna Mathew (400m) Athletics Silver
Velavan Senthil Kumar – Harshit Jawanda (Mixed) Squash Silver
Bhimchand Singh Leichombam Boxing (49 Kg – Men ) Bronze
Prayag Chauhan Boxing (64 Kg – Men) Bronze
Anamika Das (Shot-put Women) Athletics Bronze
Velavan Senthil kumar (Singles – Men) Squash Bronze
Chandan Bauri (400m – Men) Athletics Bronze
Abitha Mary Manuel (800m – Women) Athletics Bronze


The 2018 Commonwealth Games will be held at Gold Coast City, Queensland in Australia from 4-15 April 2018. This will be the 5th time that Australia has hosted the Games.

  • Keys

–        Samoa capital – Apia
–        Samoa currency – Samoan Tala
–        Samoa PM – Tuilaepa Aiono Sailele Malielegaoi
–        Samoa President – Malietoa Tanumafili II Tufuga Efi