Current Affairs PDF

Cincinnati Masters title of Tennis 2015 – Complete Overview

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

The Cincinnati Masters, currently sponsored by the Western & Southern Financial Group and also called the Western & Southern Open of 2015 was held in Mason, Ohio near Cincinnati, Ohio, USA from 15th August to 23rd August, 2015.


Cincinnati Masters title of Tennis 2015

List of champions:

  • Men’s Singles finalsRoger Federer avenged his Wimbledon final loss to Novak Djokovic by beating the top-seeded Serbian 7-6(1), 6-3 on Sunday to capture his second consecutive Western & Southern Open title.
  • Women’s Singles finals – World number one ranking Serena Williams won the women’s Singles title by defeating the third seeded Simona Halep of Romania. It was the 69th singles crown of her career.
  • Open Era Men’s Doubles championsDaniel Nestor of Canada and Edouard Roger-Vasselin of France defeated Marcin Matkowski of Poland and Serbia’s Nenad Zimonjic for the doubles title.
  • Open Era Women’s Doubles champions – Chinese Taipei duo Chan Hao-ching and Chan Yung-jan defeated Casey Dellacqua and Yaroslava Shvedova of Australia and Kazakhstan respectively for the title.

Some Incredible Records of Cincinnati:

  • Most Men’s Singles titles – Roger Federer (7 times)
  • Most Women’s Singles titles – Ruth Sanders Cordes and Clara Louise Zinke (5 times)
  • Most Men’s Doubles titles – Bob Bryan, Mike Bryan, and Daniel Nestor (5 times)
  • Most Women’s Doubles titles – Clara Louise Zinke (6 times)

All you need to know about the Event:

  • It is an annual outdoor hard-court tennis event.
  • The event started on September 18, 1899 and is the oldest tennis tournament in the United States played in its original city.
  • The tournament is the second largest summer tennis event in the U.S. after the U.S. Open, as its men’s portion is one of nine elite Masters 1000 tournaments on the ATP World Tour and its women’s event is one of five Premier 5 events on the WTA Tour.
  • It features a total of 16 courts, including four tennis stadiums — Center Court, Grandstand Court, Court 3 and Court 9 (formerly known as Court 3) — and is the only venue outside of the Grand Slams with more than two permanent stadiums.