Current Affairs PDF

President of India Presents 68th Edition of National Film Awards for 2020

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

The President of India, Droupadi Murmu, presented the 68th edition of the National Film Awards for the year 2020 in various categories in New Delhi, Delhi.


Union Minister Anurag Singh Thakur, Ministry of Information and Broadcasting (MIB); Union Minister Dr. L Murugan, Minister of State (MoS), MIB; Apurva Chandra, Secretary, MIB.

Click here to read about the 68th National Film Awards 2020

Asha Parekh Conferred with Dadasaheb Phalke Award for 2020

President Droupadi Murmu presented renowned actor Asha Parekh with the esteemed Dadasaheb Phalke Award for the year 2020 during the 68th National Film Awards for the year 2020 ceremony in Delhi.

  • She is the 52nd recipient of the prestigious award given to artists in the Indian film industry.

Five-Member Dadasaheb Phalke Award 2020 Jury Members: Asha Bhosle, Hema Malini, Poonam Dhillon, Udit Narayan, and TS Nagabharana.

About Dadasaheb Phalke Award:

i.The Dadasaheb Phalke Award was established in 1969 by the Indian government to recognize Dadasaheb Phalke’s contribution to Indian cinema.

  • In 1913, Dadasaheb Phalke directed Raja Harishchandra, India’s first full-length feature film.

iii.The award honours artists who have made “outstanding contributions to the growth and development of Indian cinema.”

iii.The prize consists of a Swarna Kamal (Golden Lotus) medallion, a shawl, and a cash prize of Rs. 10 lakh.

iv.The Directorate of Film Festivals, MIB, bestows the honour at the National Film Awards Ceremony every year.


  • The Dadasaheb Phalke Award for 2019 was presented to Rajinikanth in 2021.
  • Devika Rani was the first recipient of the Dadasaheb Phalke Award 1969, which was presented during the 17th National Film Awards in 1970.

About Asha Parekh:

i.Asha Parekh made her acting debut opposite Shammi Kapoor in Nasir Hussain’s film Dil Deke Dekho in 1959. She appeared in almost 95 films during her five-decade career.

ii.She was the first female chairperson of the Central Board of Film Certification (CBFC), and served from 1998 to 2001.

iii.Asha Parekh’s autobiography, ‘The Hit Girl’, was published in 2017 and co-written with film critic Khalid Mohamed.

iv.In 1992, she was awarded the Padma Shri, India’s fourth highest civilian honour.

Films Division Two Documentaries Conferred Rajat Kamal at 68th National Award

At the 68th National Film Award event, Droupadi Murmu, the President of India, presented the Rajat Kamal for the year 2020 to two documentaries produced by the Films Division, MIB. The awards were received by Mr. Ravinder Bhakar, Director General, Films Division.

  • The two documentaries “Wheeling the Ball” and “Pabung Syam” were awarded in the non-feature film category.

i.Wheeling the Ball – Best Exploration (including Sports) /Adventure Film 

  • It is directed by Mukesh Sharma and Produced by Films Division

ii.Pabung Syam – Best Biographical Film

  • It is directed by Haobam Paban Kumar and Produced by Films Division

National Awards 2020 :- Click here for complete national awards list

Click here for National Awards 2020 List in Infographics

Recent Related News:

In August 2022, Union Minister Anurag Thakur, MIB, released three books published by the Directorate of Publications Division (DPD), MIB. The 3 books are: Moods, Moments and Memories – Former Presidents of India (1950-2017) A Visual History; First Citizen – Pictorial Record of President Ram Nath Kovind’s Term& Interpreting Geometries – Flooring of Rashtrapati Bhavan.

About Ministry of Information and Broadcasting (MIB):

Union Minister – Anurag Singh Thakur (Hamirpur Constituency, Himachal Pradesh)
Minister of State (MoS) – L. Murugan (Rajya Sabha – Madhya Pradesh)

*****Interactive Infographics – 68th National Film Award 2020*****