Current Affairs PDF

MoC constitutes Task Force Under Vinod Kumar Tiwari & Expert Committee Under R.K. Malhotra for Coal-based Hydrogen Production

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

Government constitutes task force, expert committeeThe Ministry of Coal(MoC) constituted a Task Force under the Chairmanship of Vinod Kumar Tiwari, Additional Secretary of the Ministry of Coal and the Expert Committee under the Chairmanship of R.K Malhotra, Director General of the Federation of Indian Petroleum Industry.

Objective– Contribution in Hydrogen Economy in a clean manner.

Task Force :

6 Member Task Force was constituted under the Chairmanship of Shri Vinod Kumar Tiwari.The 5 members of the Task Force are, Shri R.K. Malhotra, Director General (FIPI); Project Adviser, MoC;  JS level officers from MNRE, P&NG, Steel, Chemical and Fertiliser; Director level officer from CIL, NLCIL, IOCL, CMPDI, SAIL; Director (Tech.) MoC/CM Shri Peeyush Kumar – Member Secretary.

Roles & Functions:

  • Monitoring of activities towards achieving coal based Hydrogen production and usage.
  • Setting up sub committees to achieve the objective.
  • To coordinate with the Coal Gasification Mission and NITI Aayog.

Expert Committee:

6 Members Expert Committee was constituted under the Chairmanship of R.K Malhotra.The other 5 members of the committee are,

  1. Dr.Mukesh Kumar, Director, Steel Research Technology Mission of India
  2. Prof K.K. Pant, IIT Delhi
  3. DrAnjan Ray, Indian Institute of Petroleum CSIR, Dehradun
  4. Director, Engineers India Limited
  5. Director(T) MoC/ Shri Peeyush Kumar, CM: Member Secretary

Roles and function

1.Identifying experts in India and co-opting as members

  1. Desk based review of progress in hydrogen technology and also review ongoing research projects in Hydrogen technology
  1. Coordinate with various national/international technology institutions in hydrogen
  1. Prepare a road map for coal based Hydrogen production and usage including economic viability, environmental sustainability and policy enablers required
  1. Identifying activities for implementation of coal based hydrogen production and usage.

Key points

  • Long term objectives included achieving coal-based hydrogen production and usage and coordination with the Coal Gasification Mission and NITI Aayog.

● The main work includes to improve the research and development projects in Hydrogen Technology and prepare a framework for coal based Hydrogen production and provide assistance to the task force and therefore provide a boost to projects of National Hydrogen Energy Mission(NHM).

About the National Hydrogen Energy Mission:

i.Focus on generation of hydrogen from green power resources.

ii.To link India’s growing renewable capacity with the hydrogen economy.

iii.India’s ambitious goal of 175 GW by 2022 got an impetus in the 2021-22 budget which allocated Rs. 1500 crore for renewable energy development and NHAM.

(Note – Currently almost 100 per cent of hydrogen produced in India is through natural gas.)

Ayana Renewable power signed MoU with Greenstat Hydrogen India:

A Memorandum of Understanding ( MoU) was signed between Ayana Renewable Power, majority of the holdings  controlled by National Investment and Infrastructure Fund (NIIF) and Greenstat Hydrogen India, a Norwegian organization. The aim is to collaborate building projects for green hydrogen. This initiative would support the National Hydrogen Mission and decarbonise the environment.

Ayana Renewable Power
Managing Director and CEO-Shivanand Nimbargi
Headquarter – Bengaluru, Karnataka