Current Affairs PDF

Suresh Prabhu Inaugurates Series of Railway Projects in Andhra Pradesh

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

The State Government of Andhra Pradesh signed a Memorandum of Understanding with the Indian Railways on December 30, 2016, for setting up a Joint Venture for taking up major Rail Projects in the state.

  • Under the Joint Venture, many new railway lines will be built with main focus on developing at least 21 railway stations in the state alike airports.
  • The programme was attended by Railway Minister Suresh Prabhu through a video link from New Delhi while Chief Minister N Chandrababu Naidu, Union Civil Aviation Minister P Ashok Gajapati Raju and others attended the function at the Railway Institute in the state.
  • For funding the Joint Venture, Railway Ministry would tie up with banks and other financial institutions.

Foundation Stone of Nadikudi-Srikalahasti Railway Line

As a part of the occasion, the Railway Minister Suresh Prabhu laid the foundation stone for the railway project Nadikudi-Srikalahasti line via Video conference.

  • The Nadikudi–Srikalahasti section falls under the administration of Guntur and Guntakal railway divisions of South Central Railway zone.
  • The project connects New Delhi–Chennai main line at Nadikudi of Guntur district and Gudur–Renigunta section at Srikalahasti of Chittoor district in the Indian state of Andhra Pradesh.
  • The total length of the section is 309 km while the estimated cost of the total project is Rs. 2,999 crore. The line would boost the economic growth in Chittoor, SPS Nellore, Prakasam and Guntur districts
  • An initial amount of Rs 300 crore has been allotted for acquiring land for the Nadikudi-AP & Indian RailwaySrikalahasti railway line. In all, 2400 acres of land would have to be acquired for the project.
  • The railway stations of the line would include Nekarikallu, Rompicherla,Vinukonda, Gundlakamma, Darsi, Podili, Obulayapalli, Rapur and Venkatagiri.

Double Decker Train

The Railway Minister also flagged off a new double-decker train, Tirupati-Visakhapatnam double decker AC express on the occasion.

  • The tri-weekly double decker super fast express between Tirupati and Visakhapatnam made its maiden ride on December 30, leaving Tirupati at 10.30 a.m. to reach Visakhapatnam at midnight. In the return direction, the special train will leave Visakhapatnam at 1 a.m. on December 31 and will reach Tirupati at 3.30 p.m. the same day.
  • However, the regular run of the double decker superfast express will be from January 1, 2017 from Tirupati and in return direction with effect from January 2 from Visakhapatnam.
  • The train No. 22708 Tirupati-Visakhapatnam double decker superfast express train will leave Tirupati on Sundays, Wednesdays and Fridays at 9.50 p.m. and arrive in Visakhapatnam the following days at 11 a.m.
  • Train No. 22707 Visakhapatnam-Tirupati double decker superfast express train will leave Visakhapatnam on Mondays, Thursdays and Saturdays per week.

Rayadurg-Kalyandurg section

Railway Minister also commissioned a new Raidurg-Kalyandurg section in Andhra Pradesh.

  • Railway Board approved extension of Tirupati-Guntakal-Tirupati Passengers train on the new Raidurg-Kalyandurg section.
  • The inaugural run of Raidurg-Kalyanadurga Passenger was commenced on December 30 from Raidurg which arrived at the Kalyanadurga at the same day. In the return direction, Train Kalyanadurga-Ballari Passenger Special departed Kalayanadurga to arrive Ballari the same day.
  • The Regular train services, Train No 57477 Tirupati-Kalayanadurga Passenger would depart Tirupati at 2230 hrs and arrive Kalayanadurga at 1255 hrs on the next day. In the extended portion, the train will depart Rayadurg at 1157 hrs and depart Avuludatla at 1216 hrs on the next day.
  • In the opposite direction Train No 57478 Kalyanadurga-Tirupati Passenger will depart Kalayanadurga at 1330 hrs and arrive Tirupati at 0620 hrs on the next day. In the extended portion, the train will depart Avuludatla at 1359 hrs and depart Rayadurg at 1422 hrs.

Other Launches

  • Apart from the line, the Minister also launched a free high-speed WiFi facility in Guntur railway station.
  • Suresh Prabhu also dedicated a renovated route-relay interlocking system at Vijayawada railway junction while a new hostel building of the Electric Traction Training Centre at Satyanarayanapuram was also inaugurated at the ocassion.
  • The Railways has decided to extend, for six months, the 10% rebate in basic fare on the vacant berths or seats in the reserved class of all other trains after preparation of the first chart.It will effective from 1st January 2017.