Current Affairs PDF

Sadat Rahman from Bangladesh Won the International Children’s Peace Prize 2020 for his work to Combat Cyberbullying

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

Bangladeshi-teen-wins-children's-peace-prize-for-anti-cyberbullying-appOn November 13, 2020 17 year old Sadat Rahman from Bangladesh won the International Children’s Peace Prize 2020 for his involvement in setting up his social organization and creating  mobile application ‘Cyber Teens’ to end cyberbullying. Nobel Peace Prize laureate Malala Yousafzai presented the award to Sadat Rahman, during a ceremony in the Netherlands.

Cyber Teens

i.The app allows young people to report cyberbullying confidentially. It also gives information about internet safety.

ii.Cyber specialists, social workers and the police are brought together through Sadat Rahman’s organization.

iii.It has supported more than 300 victims of  cyberbullying, including by reporting fake social media accounts and providing support for mental health problems.

iv.About 1,800 teenagers in his local district, Narail District, Bangladesh have now used the app.

Key Info

i.Sadat Rahman has reached more than 45,000 teenagers with internet safety seminars in schools and colleges.

ii.He has also  created “Cyber Clubs” in every school in his local area.

iii.Young people are given education on digital literacy knowledge in these clubs.

iv.He intends to spread the app beyond his local area to help victims of cyberbullying across Bangladesh.

About International Children’s Peace Prize:

i.The International Children’s Peace Prize is an  initiative of Marc Dullaert, Chairman and Founder of the KidsRights Foundation.

ii.It was launched by KidsRights during the 2005 World Summit of Nobel Peace Laureates at the Capitol in Rome, chaired by Mikhail Gorbachev.

iii.Since then, the prize is presented annually by a Nobel Peace Laureate.

Purpose behind the Prize– To provide a platform for children to express their ideas and personal involvement in children’s rights.

Prize Comprises

Statuette ‘Nkosi’

  • The winners of the prize receive the statuette ‘Nkosi’, which shows how a child sets the world in motion.
  • The statuette was designed by Inge Ikink.
  • It is named after Nkosi Johnson, the first winner of the prize.

A Study and care grant & global  platform

The winner receives a study and care grant & global platform to promote his or her ideals and causes to the benefit of the rights of children.

Project fund of €100,000

In addition, the winner also receives a project fund of €100,000, invested by KidsRights in projects that are closely linked to the winners’ area of work in the country of the winner.

Recent Related News:

On 26th August, 2020 Dutch Author Marieke Lucas Rijneveld won the 2020 International Booker Prize for the Literary fiction book ‘The Discomfort of Evening’. Rijneveld became the youngest author to win the prize at the age of 29.

About KidsRights Foundation:

HeadQuarters– Lijnden, Netherlands

Founder & Chairman– Marc Dullaert