Current Affairs PDF

Rangaswamy Becomes First Woman to Be Honored BCCI Lifetime Achievement Award

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

As a part of delivering recognition to Women’s in India, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), has for the first time introduced a separate category of Lifetime Achievement Awards for Women in the upcoming BCCI Annual Awards 2016-17.

  • For the award, BCCI has chosen former Indian skipper Shanta Rangaswamy on February 28, 2017 who has become the first receiver of the award under the category.
  • Besides, BCCI has nominated Mr. Rajinder Goel and Mr. Padmakar Shivalkar for the Col CK Nayudu Lifetime Achievement Award for 2016 to be given at the BCCI Annual Awards.
  • The two non test cricketers were nominated by the Col. C.K. Nayudu Awards Committee of BCCI consisting of Mr. N. Ram, Mr. Ramachandra Guha and Ms. Diana Edulji.
  • All the three winners would be felicitated during the BCCI Annual Awards ceremony to be held in Bengaluru on March 8, 2017 which also marks the International Women’s Day.

BCCI Special Award

Mr. Vaman Viswanath Kumar and late Ramakant Desai have been nominated for the BCCI Special Award in recognition of their yeoman services to Indian Cricket.

About Shanta Rangaswamy

Shanta Rangaswamy was born in Madras on January 1, 1954. During her days, she was a star of the Indian cricket team and represented the country in 16 Tests and 19 ODIs.

  • The 63-year-old Rangaswamy played 16 Tests between 1976 and 1991, and 19 ODIs between 1981 and 1986.
  • In her Test career, she captained eight of the matches in 1976-77 and four in 1983-84, and scored 750 runs at 32.60.
  • In her ODI stint, she captained 16 matches and scored 287 runs.
  • The right-handed batter and bowler took 21 wickets at a bowling average of 31.61, and clocked a best analysis of 4-42 against England.
  • She has also won the Arjuna award in 1976. she continues to contribute to the cricketing BCCI Lifetime Achievement Awardsphere as a cricket writer, coach, and selector for the women’s team.
  • She holds an executive position of General Manager at Canara Bank for its Bengaluru Region.

About Rajinder Goel

Rajinder Goel was born on September 20, 1942 in Haryana. He holds the record for most wickets in Ranji Trophy.

  • Despite being this he was never selected to play for India. He represented Patiala, Southern Punjab, Delhi and Haryana in domestic cricket.
  • Goel ended his career with 750 first-class wickets including 637 in the Ranji Trophy which is the highest by any bowler in tournament’s history.
  • During his playing days, Goel was employed with the State Bank of India. He later served as a selector for Haryana and the Indian junior teams

About Padmakar Shivalkar

Padmakar Kashinath Shivalkar was born on September 14 1940 in Bombay.

  • Shivalkar spent over 20 years playing for Bombay and is the team’s highest wicket taker of all time. He was almost 50 when he retired. He too was not selected for the Indian Test side.
  • His best bowling figures came in the final of the Ranji Trophy in 1972-73, when he took 8 for 16 and 5 for 18 for Bombay against Tamil Nadu. In the previous season’s semi-final he had taken 8 for 19 and 5 for 31 against Mysore.

About BCCI Awards 

The BCCI Awards are a set of annual cricket awards given by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI). The awards were first given in 2006–07.

  • The awards recognize and honour the best Indian international and domestic cricketers of the past year.
  • This year the BCCI Annual Awards 2016-17 will take place at Ritz Carlton, Bengaluru on March 8, 2017.
  • The Board of Control for Cricket in India is the national governing body for cricket in India. The board was formed as a society registered under the Tamil Nadu Societies Registration Act.
  • President: Vinod Rai
  • Headquarters: Mumbai
  • Founded: December 1928