Current Affairs PDF

PM gives away Ramnath Goenka Awards for Excellence in Journalism 2016

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

The Prime Minister, Shri Narendra Modi awarded the Ramnath Goenka Awards for excellence in journalism on November 3, 2016 in New Delhi.

About Ramnath Goenka :

  • Ramnath Goenka(1904–1991) was an Indian newspaper publisher. He launched The Indian Express and created the Indian Express Group with various English and regional language publications. In 2000, India Today magazine, named him amongst their list of “100 People Who Shaped India”.
  • In 1932, he had taken over the loss-making Madras edition ofThe Free Press Journal, driving the delivery van himself to dispatch the papers.
  • He foundedThe Indian Express in 1936 and in 1941, he was elected President of the National Newspaper Editors’ Conference. Following this, both The Indian Express and Goenka himself openly challenged the British Raj.
  • In 1936: Goenka gave Promossory Note of Rs. 500,000 ( Rs.Five Lakhs ) on 1 September 1936 in favour of Raja Mohan Prasad of Hyderabad his Financing Partner. The Promissory note still remains unpaid even after 75 years.
  • Goenka also gave a declaration in 1936 that he was a trustee of all the properties purchased in his name including the debentures of Free Press of India (Madras) Ltd. and were purchased out of the monies of Raja Mohan Prasad Murliprasad Mohanprasad of Hyderabad,India.
  • In 1948, Daily Tej partnered with Goenka to publishIndian News Chronicle, an English daily, from New Delhi. After the death of Lala Deshbandhu Gupta, Goenka converted it to The Indian Express. Upon independence he was nominated as a member to the Constituent Assembly of India.
  • Goenka played a significant role during the “Emergency” in India and challengedIndira Gandhi. His battle with the business tycoon Dhirubhai Ambani is still remembered. His critics believe that his passion for politics was the fire that led the newspapers from Indian Express Group on a blazing trail.
  • In the first post-independence elections, held in 1952, Goenka contested from Tindivanam seat (Madras Province) as Congress candidate, but he was defeated by a candidate who favoured Tamil nationalism and who was supported by the Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam.

About the Award :

Ramnath Goenka Award was instituted by the Ramnath Goenka Foundation in 2005 to celebrate the legacy of the founder of The Indian Express Group.Ramnath Goenka Awards 2016

  • The awards acknowledge exceptional work across 28 categories in print, broadcast and online journalism in English, Hindi and regional languages.
  • The technology poses a challenge to the media, and news that could earlier be disseminated in 24 hours now happens in 24 seconds.

List of Awardee :

Name of the Categories Name of the winners
Prakash Rakesh Kardaley Memorial Award for Civic Journalism Christin Mathew Philip (The Times of India)
Uncovering India Invisible Print : Ashwaq Masoodi (Mint)
Broadcast : Sarada Lahangir (Kalinga TV)
Hindi Print : Santosh Kumar (India Today)
Broadcast : Sanjay Nandan (ABP news), Syeda Afifa Khatoon (NEWS24)
Regional Languages Print : Firos Khan M (Madhyamam Daily), Nileena Atholi (Mathrubhumi)
Broadcast : Pramod Shastri G (TV9)
Sports Journalism Print : Devendra Pandey (The Indian Express)
Broadcast : Sanjeeb Mukherjea (CNN-IBN)
Reporting from J&K and the Northeast Print : Esha Roy (The Indian Express) and Maddipatla Rajshekhar (
Broadcast: Shubhajit Sengupta (CNN_IBN)
Environmental reporting Print : Pritha Chatterjee, Aniruddha Ghoshal (The Indian Express)
Broadcast : Sushil Chandra Bahuguna (NDTV India)
Business and Economic Journalism Print : Khushboo Narayan (The Indian Express) and Rajeev Dubey (Business Today)
Broadcast : Archana Shukla (CNBC TV18)
Foreign Correspondent covering India Print : Victor John Mallet (Financial Times)
Investigative reporting Print : Maneesha Pandey, Sandeep Pai (Newslaundry)
Broadcast : Ganesh Suratchand Thakur (ABP news)
On-the-spot reporting Print : Nayantara Narayan (
Broadcast : Aamir Rafiq Peerzada, Rakesh Solanky (NDTV)
Feature writing : Shamik Bag (Mint), Sreedevi TV (Malayala Manorama)
Reporting on Politics and Government Print : Ashutosh Bhardwaj (The Indian Express)
Broadcast : Halimabi Abdul Kureshi (IBN Lokmat)
Photo Journalism Burhan Kinu (Hindustan Times)
Commentry and interpretative writing Anna MM Vetticad (BLink), Pramit Bhattacharya (Mint)
Books Non-fiction : Author: Akshaya Mukul
Book: Gita Press & The Making of Hindu India
Publication: Harper Collins
Sanjiv Sinha Memorial Award for Excellence in Reporting Aditi Vatsa (The Indian Express)
Priya Chandrashekar Memorial Award for Excellence in Editing Saikat Kumar Bose (The Indian Express)