Current Affairs PDF

National Civil Services Day 2024 – April 21

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

National Civil Services Day 2024National Civil Services Day is annually observed across India on 21 April to recognise and acknowledge the crucial role that civil servants play in the nation’s development.

  • National Civil Services Day is an occasion for civil servants to recommit themselves to serving the nation excellently.
  • 21 April 2024 marks the observance of the 17th National Civil Services Day.


i.In 2006, India’s then Prime Minister (PM), Dr. Manmohan Singh inaugurated an event to mark the ‘Civil Services Day.’

  • The 61 All India and Central Civil Services, including 15 non-technical and 20 technical services, were collectively observing the day.

ii.The 1st National Civil Services Day celebrations were held in Vigyan Bhawan, New Delhi (Delhi) on 21 April 2006.

Why April 21?

The government of India has decided to mark the 21st April as the National Civil Services Day to commemorate the day on which India’s first home minister, Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel addressed the newly formed and newly appointed Administrative Service Officers at the Metcalfe House, Delhi in 1947.

  • During his address, he referred to the civil service officers as the “steel frame of India“.

Prime Minister’s Awards Scheme:

i.Civil Services Day provides an opportunity to express gratitude to civil officials for their contributions to society.

ii.On this occasion, the PM’s Awards for Excellence in Public Administration are conferred on Districts/Implementing Units for their outstanding performance in priority programs and innovation.

iii.These awards scheme, initiated in 2006, acknowledge, recognize, and reward the extraordinary and innovative work done by Districts/ Organizations of the Central and State Governments.

Evolution of the Award Scheme:

i.The scheme was restructured in 2014 to highlight District Collectors’ performance in Priority Programs, Innovations, and Aspirational Districts.

ii.The scheme was further revamped in 2020, to recognise District Collectors’ performance toward the District’s economic development.

iii.It was redesigned in 2021 to foster constructive competition, innovation, and replication of best practices.

Current Restructuring:

i.The scheme is now being restructured to recognise the performance of the District Collector, emphasising individual beneficiaries and saturation implementation.

ii.Evaluation criteria include Good Governance, Qualitative, and Quantitative parameters.

PM’s Awards for Excellence in Public Administration Scheme 2023:

i.For the year 2023, the award scheme aims to recognise the contribution of civil servants in 2 categories:

  • Category -1: Holistic Development of Districts under 12 priority sector programs. Under this category, 10 awards would be conferred.
  • Category 2: Innovations for Central Ministries/Departments States, Districts. Under this category, 6 awards would be conferred.

ii.The contribution of civil servants in the holistic development of the District is under the following schemes:

  • Har Ghar Jal Yojana
  • Pradhan Mantri (PM) Awas Yojana (Gramin)
  • PM Awas Yojana (Urban)
  • Mission Indradhanush
  • PM-Jan Arogya Yojana (AB PM-JAY)
  • PM Ujjwala Yojana (PMUY)
  • PM SVANidhi
  • PM Matru Vandana Yojana (PMMVY)
  • PM Vishvakarma Yojana
  • PM MUDRA Yojana (PMMY)
  • PM Poshan Yojana
  • Kisan Credit Card Scheme for Farmers, Animal Husbandry and Fisheries

iii.The total number of Awards under the PM’s Awards for Excellence in Public Administration 2023 would be 16.

iv.The PM of India confers the PM’s Awards on Civil Services Day.

Note: Between 2019-2023, 62 Awards were conferred.

The PM’s Awards, 2023 Components:

  • Trophy
  • Scroll
  • Incentive of Rs. 20 lakh to the District/organization.

Purpose of the Incentive:
Utilisation for implementation of project/program or bridging resource gaps in public welfare areas.